We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cottage to make you smile”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoying life in a characterful cottage in the village of Sheldon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoying life in a characterful cottage in the village of Sheldon
Shape of the stone fireplace is 16th century!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Enjoying life in a characterful cottage in the village of Sheldon
Shape of the stone fireplace is 16th century!
Views onto garden from sitting room
Christmas at The Old End
Old window discovered during renovations, and the only piece of glass that remains of the original
Afternoon tea with a slice of delicious, locally made, Bakewell Brownie!
handy downstairs toilet
Light & airy kitchen
part of wall left exposed to view in main bedroom, note round wooden peg fixings in beams
Bathroom with over-bath shower
twin room
twin room
twin room
twin room
Window frame possibly predates 1617 !
Garden and patio area
Views to village
Footpath to Magpie Mine
Found in garden-probably an item of peasant jewellery of the post medieval period' British Museum
Magpie Mine
Heading home for a warm drink after a leisurely walk across the fields to Magpie Mine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Superdog2
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A cottage to make you smile”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage with outstanding original features such as wattle And daub wall and 16th century stone window frame. Very well equipped and plenty of space in kitchen cupboards with dishwasher and washer . Lounge is cosy with log burner and nice touches such as Bakewell brownies , games , dvd s and sewing kit . Enclosed front garden for your pooches and a fab view . Underfloor heating is toasty and some wifi which isn't mentioned . Would have preferred bigger bed in the main bedroom but overall a greAt find! The Cock and Pullet pub in the village is super for great grub , pool and dog and people friendly . Good location , walks on your doorstep and plenty Around to do . Would highly recommend .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our unique cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckyts1
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Period cottage in peak disrict”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely 3 night stay in this picture perfect village with a lovely local pub. Excellent cottage with lots of space and good facilities, nice open fire and living area. clean kitchen with very good utensils. Overall, we really enjoyed our first family holiday here with our 6 month old baby. Only negatives were poor wifi internet reception and a very soft mattress in the main bedroom but we would certainly visit this cottage agon. Thank you Rosemary.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2016
Thank you for your feedback, as we are new to holiday letting your feedback is very important to us to help us to offer the best we can to the majority of guests. We are sorry to hear that you found the mattress too soft. With regard to Wi-fi we do not advertise that we offer it and there are areas in the house where it has no coverage, this is something that we will look into as we go along and hope to improve before your next visit. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our unique home and that you would like to return again. Kind regards Rosemary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahbunn...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We only had a short stay but wished we had booked for longer! Friendly owners, a great period cottage cosy clean and comfortable! The lovely touch leaving us the Bakewell brownie Divine! We loved the pub up the road within a few yards but far enough that it didn't disturb, serving great beer and tasty food. A quiet restful place in a beautiful part of the peaks X will be back soon !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing