We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a warm welcome!”
Review of Hearthstone Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hearthstone Farm
Ranked #27 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Such a lovely welcoming B&B. Joyce and Ian do their utmost to make you welcome, with a lovely pot of tea & home made scones on arrival! Our room was beautiful, comfortable & warm. The bed was extremely comfortable too.
The breakfast was superb, a lovely selection & served with a smile & a chat!
The location of Hearthstone Farm is just perfect, so peaceful and quiet with lots of birdlife & walks on the doorstep.
I congratulate Joyce and Ian on all their hard work which has made this such a wonderful place to stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

We had three days here and could have stayed longer. Joyce and Ian are so friendly and welcoming and so helpful with ideas of what to do. The bed is the best we have slept in and the breakfast was delicious, so much choice. The countryside is beautiful with lots of walks to choose from, we really enjoyed the canal walk at Cromford. I am sure we will be returning one day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureenandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Beautiful settings made for a perfect break to unwind.Lovely welcome from the hosts,tea and chocolate cake on arrival. Made to feel at home straight away Lovely room clean and tidy with a lovely breakfast in the morning to boot.Hosts recommended places of interest in the area which was helpful.Very enjoyable stay would recommend would go back again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gareth47306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

First holiday away with the dog (Pippin) we stayed for 2 nights. Welcomed with freshly baked scones cream and Jam. Room cosy and the the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Breakfast was first class nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who were friendly and helpful with tips on local places to visit and all dog friendly pubs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Not to mention cream tea on arrival, incredibly friendly and helpful hosts, and a first-class breakfast. Outstanding value in a beautiful location. However do not attempt to approach it from the Riber road at the Matlock end as it's hairpin bends on a 1 in 3 gradient, take the road out of Tansley.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was an excellent choice, we wanted peace & quiet and somewhere we could take our dog to stay. We stayed for 4 nights and were made extremely welcome, nothing was too much trouble.

What makes Hearthstone Farm stand out is that every effort has been made to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need. In the room there are quality linens on the bed, lovely big towels, plenty of hot water; facilities to make tea, coffee, hot chocolate, ground coffee and speciality teas - all provided and replenished daily. There is a good TV, lots of storage space, a radio alarm, a choice of mugs or china cups; tumblers and wine glasses. And lots and lots of useful information with some really good recommendations about what to do and where to eat.

Add in the setting (fabulous) and a top quality breakfast, and you really couldn't ask for more. Just fantastic.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but different, if you have a preference for a bath or a shower then it would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FavershamHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in June. The horses were a big hit and the surroundings were stunning. The breakfasts were first class and the hospitality was great. The bedroom was very comfortable and the guest lounge was like being at home. We would go again next time we are visiting family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
0.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
369 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
413 reviews
13.7 mi away
Long Chimneys Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#2 of 6 in Darley Dale
171 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
1.6 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Farm

Address: Hearthstone Lane | Riber, Matlock DE4 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing