We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly B&B that felt a real home from home”
Review of Hearthstone Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hearthstone Farm
Ranked #28 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful friendly B&B that felt a real home from home”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night but had a wonderful stay. From the peaceful location, the friendly owners, to the the perfect country decor and the fabulous farmhouse breakfast, we immediately felt at home! The bed was very comfortable, huge en suite bathroom and everything was good quality including the Ralph Lauren towels!! Thank you for a lovely stay and, as so many other visitors have done - we will be back...!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed here for one night in Feb 2013, we have a 3 year old and a 6 month old, which most B&Bs in the area are not even prepared to accommodate (this is what I found when searching), even though our children are good sleepers and well behaved.
We were made to feel 100% welcome and relaxed at Hearthstone Farm, the owner even suggested that as the other rooms were all free, we could choose to put our baby in the next room so we all had more space and a better nights sleep! Much more than you would expect from most B&Bs. They were lovely with the children, friendly and chatty. The room was large, but cosy and very comfortable, with a lovely bathroom with views out to Riber Castle. We could not have asked for more. Breakfast was delicious and the lady even set up a high chair with a cushion for our baby who is only just big enough to use one.
We would love to return again and really recommend the B&B to families and couples.

Room Tip: Room 3 is spacious with lovely views and comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthB617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Such a lovely welcoming B&B. Joyce and Ian do their utmost to make you welcome, with a lovely pot of tea & home made scones on arrival! Our room was beautiful, comfortable & warm. The bed was extremely comfortable too.
The breakfast was superb, a lovely selection & served with a smile & a chat!
The location of Hearthstone Farm is just perfect, so peaceful and quiet with lots of birdlife & walks on the doorstep.
I congratulate Joyce and Ian on all their hard work which has made this such a wonderful place to stay, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We had three days here and could have stayed longer. Joyce and Ian are so friendly and welcoming and so helpful with ideas of what to do. The bed is the best we have slept in and the breakfast was delicious, so much choice. The countryside is beautiful with lots of walks to choose from, we really enjoyed the canal walk at Cromford. I am sure we will be returning one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Beautiful settings made for a perfect break to unwind.Lovely welcome from the hosts,tea and chocolate cake on arrival. Made to feel at home straight away Lovely room clean and tidy with a lovely breakfast in the morning to boot.Hosts recommended places of interest in the area which was helpful.Very enjoyable stay would recommend would go back again when next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gareth47306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

First holiday away with the dog (Pippin) we stayed for 2 nights. Welcomed with freshly baked scones cream and Jam. Room cosy and the the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Breakfast was first class nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who were friendly and helpful with tips on local places to visit and all dog friendly pubs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Not to mention cream tea on arrival, incredibly friendly and helpful hosts, and a first-class breakfast. Outstanding value in a beautiful location. However do not attempt to approach it from the Riber road at the Matlock end as it's hairpin bends on a 1 in 3 gradient, take the road out of Tansley.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
3.5 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
0.9 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stone Lodge
Stone Lodge
#5 of 7 in Matlock Bath
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Bank House B&B
#45 of 51 in Matlock
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 7 in Matlock Bath
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Farm

Property: Hearthstone Farm
Address: Hearthstone Lane | Riber, Matlock DE4 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing