We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay”
Review of Hearthstone Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hearthstone Farm
Ranked #28 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2009

This is a beautiful farmhouse where you feel at home and welcome straight away. We had a brilliant time and thank you for making our dog so welcome! I just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura8512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2008

We stayed at Hearthstone Farm for 2 nights and could have stayed much longer as to was so good.

The location was in very pretty farm land only 10 minutes from Matlock and part of a working farm

The hospitality was really really good with excelllent hosts.

The accomodation was very good with nothing to have concerns about.

The breakfasts were great with farm fresh products.

We highly recommend this B&B

Lynne and Ed

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ed_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Cannot say enough great things about the place.

We have stayed here 5 or 6 times now over a period of 5 years.

Its a beautiful organic working farm and the perfect retreat whether as a couple, or now with a three year old dynamo. Joyce and Ian will make you feel at home (actually better than that- unless a three course breakfast is your norm at home). Ian will let you know where around the farm you can wander, you can buy their fresh produce in their shop - don't leave without some sausages : top tip - they only sell their own produce so if you want steak order it before you go.

The Plough or The Tavern in Tansley both do nice food. In the summer booking is essential.

Of course if all this is not enough then there is the whole of the Peak District to explore

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hearditall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

I love this place! It's an old, old, old stone farmhouse set on top of a hill with great views in all directions. Mossy stone barns and walls - the very image of an English farm from a children's storybook It's a real working farm and guests are free to wander. The breakfast is awesome!

Just a few minutes from Matlock, the turn is actually in the village of Tansley, where there is a pub serving food. You will need a car, no way you'd want to walk there, although as the crow flies it's only a mile or two from the train station. Chatsworth, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, and the whole Peak District are very close.

We were greeted before we even got out of the car, Ian saw the headlights coming and directed us where to park. Then we were welcomed with some awesome homemade cake with the most delicious cheese frosting ever. The room was comfortable if a bit crowded, but what do you expect from a 16th century building? The bathroom is modern and en suite. There are bookcases in the hall and sitting room with some interesting reading, if you don't want to watch the TV. It was chilly and raining when we were there, so we didn't avail ourselves of the garden.

The breakfast - WOW. Joyce asked how we wanted our eggs and directed us to the cereal, yogurt, fruit, and toast. She brought our plates then made a second trip with a dish with enormous quantities of the farm's own bacon and sausages.

Anyone visiting The Peak District should stay here

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
0.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
359 reviews
3.5 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#2 of 6 in Darley Dale
171 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Long Chimneys Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
127 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Farm

Address: Hearthstone Lane | Riber, Matlock DE4 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing