We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loveliest B&B we ever stayed”
Review of Hearthstone Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hearthstone Farm
Ranked #31 of 53 Matlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2010

The house is English style set in wonderful scenery. We stayed in Honeymoon suite which is very lovely, comfortable and clean. The hospitality is also remarkable. We wished we could stay there longer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanwimonO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Hearthstone Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

Hearthstone Farm is a very pretty property which seems to be in the middle of nowhere. It has excellent access to local footpaths and is just a stones throw from Matlock and some lovely scenery. Guests are made to feel like one of the household, not only by the warm welcome but also by the general set-up; which may not be to everyone's taste.
I can only speak of the room we were given, which I felt was a little bit snug. Furnishings were obviously not cheap and the room did feel cosy. The bed was very comfortable and consequently I had a very good nights sleep- also because of the lack of street lights!
There were a few things that I did notice, which may be an issue to other travellers. Firstly, due to the age of the property and the size, soundproofing is at a minimum. From our room it was possible to hear the conversation downstairs and the screaming baby from the room next door. We presumed they could also hear us and so at night we only felt comfortable whispering. Attention to detail was slightly lacking in the room.. a used hair curler complete with hair in the drawer, dusty wine glasses, the carpet needed a good hoover, curtains not attached to the curtain pole properly, a light shade left removed from a light without a bulb and a plaster covering a switch with light indicator for the heated towel rail. There was also a stain on the settee in the room, an item of furniture which served little purpose other than to make the room very small. The advertised 'corner bath' was absolutely tiny and not suitable for tall/large men or women. The bath chain was broken and the fixtures looked a little old.
However, I didn't feel it was necessary to point out these niggles considering how short our stay was and they made us feel so welcome that it seemed inappropriate.
Breakfast was very nice, with a choice of cereal, fruits and yoghurt. Full English breakfast was tasty with a choice of tea or fresh coffee. It did seem a little bit odd that there wasn't more of a choice laid out for hot breakfasts on a menu and we were asked at the last minute what we wanted.. without any indication as to what there was to offer. Everyone eats breakfast together at the table, which didn't bother us too much, but leads to a rather stilted morning conversation with strangers especially if their baby woke you up at 6am!
All in all, Hearthstone Farm is a good b and b which would benefit from a little more attention to detail and an effort to keep up with the standard that is shown in properties with a similar charge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k8taylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

This is a beautiful farmhouse where you feel at home and welcome straight away. We had a brilliant time and thank you for making our dog so welcome! I just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura8512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We stayed at Hearthstone Farm for 2 nights and could have stayed much longer as to was so good.

The location was in very pretty farm land only 10 minutes from Matlock and part of a working farm

The hospitality was really really good with excelllent hosts.

The accomodation was very good with nothing to have concerns about.

The breakfasts were great with farm fresh products.

We highly recommend this B&B

Lynne and Ed

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ed_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Cannot say enough great things about the place.

We have stayed here 5 or 6 times now over a period of 5 years.

Its a beautiful organic working farm and the perfect retreat whether as a couple, or now with a three year old dynamo. Joyce and Ian will make you feel at home (actually better than that- unless a three course breakfast is your norm at home). Ian will let you know where around the farm you can wander, you can buy their fresh produce in their shop - don't leave without some sausages : top tip - they only sell their own produce so if you want steak order it before you go.

The Plough or The Tavern in Tansley both do nice food. In the summer booking is essential.

Of course if all this is not enough then there is the whole of the Peak District to explore

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hearditall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

I love this place! It's an old, old, old stone farmhouse set on top of a hill with great views in all directions. Mossy stone barns and walls - the very image of an English farm from a children's storybook It's a real working farm and guests are free to wander. The breakfast is awesome!

Just a few minutes from Matlock, the turn is actually in the village of Tansley, where there is a pub serving food. You will need a car, no way you'd want to walk there, although as the crow flies it's only a mile or two from the train station. Chatsworth, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, and the whole Peak District are very close.

We were greeted before we even got out of the car, Ian saw the headlights coming and directed us where to park. Then we were welcomed with some awesome homemade cake with the most delicious cheese frosting ever. The room was comfortable if a bit crowded, but what do you expect from a 16th century building? The bathroom is modern and en suite. There are bookcases in the hall and sitting room with some interesting reading, if you don't want to watch the TV. It was chilly and raining when we were there, so we didn't avail ourselves of the garden.

The breakfast - WOW. Joyce asked how we wanted our eggs and directed us to the cereal, yogurt, fruit, and toast. She brought our plates then made a second trip with a dish with enormous quantities of the farm's own bacon and sausages.

Anyone visiting The Peak District should stay here

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
0.9 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 8 in Matlock Bath
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Farm

Address: Hearthstone Lane | Riber, Matlock DE4 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing