We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing place, loved it! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darwin Forest Country Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Darwin Forest Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing place, loved it! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic few days here recently with our 5 year old girl. Cosy, beautifully decorated lodge, fab pool, soft play and lovely restaurant/bar on site. The staff were fantastic, we had slight issue with the tv which was sorted within the space of time it took us to walk back to the lodge after reporting it! Could honestly not fault the place, would highly recommend and we are hoping to return.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, 12 December 2016
We are so pleased to hear you had a fantastic few days staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    182
    30
    9
    8
See reviews for
506
153
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely spotlessly clean lodge with everything you could need for your break. A few minutes drive from Matlock (please note: Matlock Bath pretty much shuts down for the winter!). Well stocked shop on site, nice pub/restaurant, swimming pool, spa, lovely walks, lots for kids. Hot tubs are just amazing. Staff can't do enough to make your stay perfect.

Stayed November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank CTK1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, 29 November 2016
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Darwin Forest. Thank you for leaving a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

Spent the weekend here for my birthday with my husband , two kids and our dog. The grounds are immaculate. Our lodge 18 was lovely fairly new looking and spotless. It was quite small but fine for us. The hot tub was lovely. We ate at the restaurant and the food was decent for the price, the bar and restaurant all look very nice. Dogs are allowed in one section of the restaurant. There is a shop on site selling a good selection of food and drink. There are nice walks and bike rides from the park. We didn't use the indoor play but the kids loved the pool which was spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Lodge 18 was new and had a nice outdoor aspect backing onto a green area and anot old stone wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, 29 November 2016
Many thanks for reviewing Darwin Forest. We are pleased you enjoyed staying in one of our Spa Lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016

Warm and cosy lodge, only had to take provisions and friends. Nothing was missing take your bikes, trainers and swimming costumes and leave the rest to pinelodges. Food and drink reasonably priced, swimming good but would advise that you pre book any spa treatments as not alot of slots available especially if all of you want a treatment this said prices for treatments extremely reasonable, cheaper than the high street but far superior

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debiw1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, 29 November 2016
Many thanks for reviewing Darwin Forest. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I went here with our two boys: a 4 month old baby and a nearly-2-year-old very active toddler. Great site, plenty to do around the area on dry days and good facilities on site for wet or lazy days. The swimming pool was fab and our toddler loved both the small free soft play room and the main Little Monkeys playcentre. Gorgeous surroundings, lovely forest walks, helpful friendly staff and a cosy lodge. We will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrspeesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, 21 November 2016
Thank you for reviewing Darwin Forest. We are pleased to hear that you and your boys enjoyed a great family holiday with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We booked this on the recommendation of our local independent travel agent as a get together for our family including one disabled Grandad. 13 of us, three generations, two dogs and three lodges. As soon as you arrive you realise this is a place that takes pride in itself. Smart, spotlessly clean, modern, comfortable, roomy, well laid out...I could go on. We 'only' had the basic Classic lodges and were a little nervous they would be a bit, well, basic...but they were fab. Great location, such a beautiful part of England. Wife and I will come back and bring our bikes next time. Visited Bakewell and Chatsworth House, both spot on for our missed group. Onsite gym, pool, bar and restaurant were great too.

Stayed October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, 21 November 2016
Thank you for reviewing Darwin Forest. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed staying with us and that you enjoyed visiting the Peak District. All our staff take great pride in the park and we endeavour to cater for all members of the family. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back for a cycling holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2016

We have just come back from our first stay at Darwin. We stayed for 4 nights in a classic pet friendly lodge with one twin room and one double room and WOW were we impressed!

The lodge was fantastic! We thought with it being a pet friendly lodge and in November it would be cold and a bit worn out as most pet friendly hotels, lodges etc aren't always the best but were couldn't of been more wrong. The lodge was lovely and warm, really modern, clean, spacious and so well equipped we were blown away really. They even give you a few dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, dish cloths etc, everything is thought about which is just brilliant.

The beds were lovely and comfy and they even provide you with bath and hand towels.
Our son is nearly 3 and he loved the space he had to roam about in the lodge.
Dexter our dog is a big Labrador and even with all 3 of us there we still had lots of room in the lodge.
The walks around the lodge were lovely. There is a little pond and a stream and lots of woodland.
We went to little monkeys soft play which was great. It was £3.50 for 2 hours and the food was lovely in there too.
They have a shop onsite which has everything you need.
We didn't use the swimming pool, gym etc so cant comment on that. We went to the onsite restaurant one evening and the service and good was lovely.

The whole complex Is so tidy and you can tell its really well looked after.
They have a recycle area which is great and many rubbish points you can use.
Staff are all lovely and we will 100% be returning.

Its a little gem this place and we are so glad we found it.
Cant wait for our next family break here. We are already looking at dates for next year.

Well done Darwin Forest Team you do a fantastic job and we thank you very much to all the staff for making this our best family trip to date!!

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyMc1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, 21 November 2016
We are delighted that you and your family, including your dog, enjoyed staying with us at Darwin Forest. We are pleased you enjoyed exploring the park and using the facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
2.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
4.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
7.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
11.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin Forest Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Forest Country Park

Property: Darwin Forest Country Park
Address: | Two Dales, Matlock DE4 5PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Darwin Forest Country Park 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Peak District, Darwin Forest is a 5-star holiday park in a delightful woodland setting. Accommodation is in modern self-catering lodges with everything provided for a great family holiday. Lodges sleep form 2 to 8 people. Facilities include indoor swimming pool, indoor play area, bar/restaurant, tennis, beauty therapy, soft play and woodland walks. Darwin holds the David Bellamy Award for Conservation at Gold standard and a Visit England Award for Excellence. Handy for Chatsworth, Bakewell, Haddon Hall and all the sights of the Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darwin Forest Country Park Hotel Two Dales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing