We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service”
Review of Stones Restaurant

Stones Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 127 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$61
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dinner - Tuesday to Saturday 6.30-9pm. Lunch - Wednesday to Saturday 12-2pm. Tucked away in the heart of idyllic Matlock, Derbyshire, Stones is a modern, eclectic restaurant with a stylish, welcoming interior and a superb modern British menu. The restaurant, which added a new riverside conservatory in May 2013, is jointly run by Kevin Stone, Head Chef, partner, Jade Himsworth and sister, Katie Temple. Stones' riverside conservatory overlooks the babbling River Derwent. The menus change seasonally to reflect the very best in local produce, and the wine to match the food. Stones' philosophy is to provide a fantastic dining experience in a relaxed setting. The dining room which is popular with couples, locals and visitors, is a perfect place for romantic, family or business meals. Stones has been awarded two AA Rosettes for culinary excellence.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I went there couple of weeks ago whilst on holiday from Dubai (we used to live in the Matlock area). If the weather is good enough (as it was for us) it is great to sit outside for an aperitif. The food choice, quality and overall menu was superb and the knowledge of the wine waiter was great, as was the rest of the service. Would def. go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Sarah B,

Visitors from Dubai! I think you may be the longest distance visitors we’ve had. It’s pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed your experience.

We wish you a safe journey home and, please, come and see us again next time you’re in the UK.

Best regards,
Jade Himsworth
Owner, Stones Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    68
    18
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“return visit”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Love stones.. not going to go into everything we ate.. Just to say that the service and food were again superb.. Thanks again...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crabrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear crarabbit

Thank you for leaving those notes.

Best regards,
Jade Himsworth
Owner, Stones Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As good as they say it is”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent food, creative and beautifully presented, with attentive and friendly service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Moonfood,

Many thanks for the commendation.

Best regards,
Jade Himsworth
Owner, Stones Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My partner booked this restaurant as he had read the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We were on a short break holiday in Winster for my birthday and my partner thought this would be a special treat. We arrived and was guided to the lovely patio area for drinks and nibbles which were very tasty. The meal we had from starter to dessert was probably the best I've had for a while. The staff and atmosphere added to a wonderful birthday meal and if we are in this part of the country again we would definitely be booking a table

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Julie,

Congratulations on your recent birthday and thank you for visiting us here at Stones. I do hope, should you visit Derbyshire again in the future, you decide to return.

Best regards,
Jade Himsworth
Owner, Stones Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I were invited to Stones to attend a notable birthday celebration of a close friend on Saturday 9th August.
When we arrived we were presented with drinks and canapés on the terrace overlooked by the Matlock bridge over the River Derwent prior to sitting down to a well laid out and original menu. We compliment both the staff and the chef for their unstinting attention and their wonderful gastronomic experience.
What a fabulous afternoon shared with the birthday host and his many friends. Certainly 10 out of 10 and will visit again very soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David735061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear David,

Many thanks for leaving your review and for your compliments. I hope you’re able to return and enjoy Stones again in the future.

Best regards,
Jade Himsworth
Owner, Stones Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stones Restaurant also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Stones Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing