We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of Ellen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ellen House
Ranked #7 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just had 3 fantastic nights in Ellen House. Every thing was what you would expect and more. John & Anne not only provide top class accommodation, but also produced breakfasts fit for a king, i would certainly recommend the frittata as an alternative to the usual bacon eggs etc, we will be returning as soon as possible

Room Tip: Garden room lets you enjoy the early morning birds sing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suejim39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

I stayed for two nights on my own wanting to do some walking. John and Anne could not have been more hopsitable and introduced me to my fellow guests at breakfast. Speaking of which the breakfast was outstanding with homemeade local conserves and a wonderful choice.

Great room well appointed with nice touches like botted water, fresh muffin and beautiful toiletries. Good position too, easy walk from Railway, but no noise. Make sure you take some time to sit in the garden and literally smell the roses.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Thank you, we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our location and facilities. It is good to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and our home made jams (courtesy of my talented sister). Glad the English weather allowed you to sit in the garden!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay at Ellen House. Ann and John made us feel very welcome and breakfast was marvellous. Very central location with shops etc. within easy walking distance. Wonderful hosts in a wonderful B and B. Really enjoyed the muffins.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed for two nights over the Jubilee weekend and John and Anne were absolutely wonderful. There was nothing to fault and the home made muffins and biscuits in the room were a lovely surprise. Certainly be going back again for another visit to stay with the wonderful hosts and Duke.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

It good to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to a return visit. I am glad you liked our home made goodies! Duke will also be glad to see you, he loves it when guests make a fuss of him. Anne & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed for one night on a business trip and was really impressed by Anne and John's genuine desire to please. They seem to love having people to stay and have tried to think of everything to make your visit comfortable. The breakfast was sensational and deserves its special ETB commendation. Deliciously cooked eggs and bacon together with potato 'specials' and an individual fresh fruit platter. Worth a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkpurseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just returned from a four night stay at Ellen House, This is surely the best bed and breakfast in Matlock. Ann and John are a lovely couple.The breakfasts were wonderful, and we stayed in the garden room, which was a delight with doors opening into the garden, with chairs outside to sit and have a cup of tea and Anns wonderful cakes.
The room itself was excellent, and it was good to see plenty of shelf space in the bathroom.
The location is ideal for walking out to eat in the evening Will recommed to all my friends and would definitely stay here again if visiting Matlock.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DobbinSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Manager at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review, we really appreciate it. The Garden Room is always a popular room as you can sit outside the room and watch the birds and our active squirrels, (you might even see our lazy bull dog sunning himself on the top step if the weather is good! ).
It is good to know that guests are happy to recommend us to friends, the very best advertising we could hope for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed three nights at Ellen House on our way back to Scotland after a cruise which returned to Dover. Anne and John were delightful hosts who looked after us very well. The room was spotless and breakfast delicious. The location is perfect for walks in the area and to stroll into town for evening meals. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tartan_buster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 54 in Matlock
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 54 in Matlock
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellen House

Address: 37 Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 3LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £78 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellen House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellen House offers a special stay with the emphasis on excellent service, comfortable rooms and good food. We have a varied English breakfast as well as innovative vegatarian and vegan dishes. We are in the Peak District and close to Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ellen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing