We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Luxury”
Review of Ellen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ellen House
Ranked #7 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total Luxury”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This B and B is extra special. Its a warm, friendly and spotlessly clean house and we were made to feel very very welcome. Breakfast was to die for, as were Annes muffins that were freshly baked in the afternoon (and replenished daily)! We would not consider staying anywhere else next time we come to Matlock. Staying here made a special trip even more special. Anne and John are lovely people and looked after us very well. We cannot wait until we get to stay here again. There is not a single thing that needs improvement and we got a lot more than what we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaGreenhough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Manager at Ellen House, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you for posting a review, it is lovely to know that we were able to make your stay special. The fact that you felt that we were good value for your money, is very important to us as it is a principle what we strongly believe in. Please come back to again, we promise to keep on providing home baked goodies and delicious breakfasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
130
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taunton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Wow what a beautiful place! Me and my sisters have fallen in love with the place! Warm, clean. cosy, friendly! The town is a small stroll from the front door. Beautiful shops, bars and restaraunts.Breakfast was stunning! Everything you want in a Bed and Breakfast! We'll be back soon! xxx

Room Tip: Me and my sisters had a twin and an extra bed was made up to make a three! Still stacks of space and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We found this B&B on line and didn't check the reviews it was in Matlock and thats where we wanted to be for one night, WOW! what a find we have stayed in quite a lot of B&Bs and this one is outstanding John and Ann go that extra mile with just about everything you can think of in your room to make your stay more comfortable, even down to dressing gowns, and the really lovely breakfasts with that extra special touch, I noticed near the front door there is a tripavisor sign award of excellence,I am not surprised its well deserved, if we are ever in Matlock again we would love to stay longer at Ellen House

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pemo200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you for the words of praise, we are so happy that you think we are outstanding! We do work hard to maintain high standards and always try our best to make our guests feel welcome. We will keep on providing the special touches, home made goodies and scrumptious breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Have spent the last weekend at Ellen House. Anne and John are terrific hosts, breakfasts to die for and little goodies left in your room such as biscuits, flapjacks or muffins yummy!. Would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast and we have already to family and friends!!. We will hopefully be back sometime.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you for the recommendations, it is much appreciated. Hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Crunchies/muffins will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

John and Anne were the perfect hosts, we had four great nights in their perfectly located B&B. They were so friendly and warm and went out of their way to accommodate any request. The breakfasts were the BEST we have ever had anywhere, The rooms were spotless and very tastefully decorated with lots of lovely little thoughtful touches. If anyone out there is thinking of running a B&B then if you take a leaf out of John and Anne's book then you cann't go wrong.
Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newmeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Wow, we are lost for words! Thank you very much for such a glowing review. Really looking forward to a return visit as we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Quiet location, not far to walk to town centre down a hill.Spotlessly clean, with bright cheerful interesting decor. Really helpful friendly hosts. Very good breakfast--couldn't get better anywhere.
Shower a bit tricky to work at first. Comfy bed, good size wardrobe and room. Can open windows if necesssary.
Extremely good value for such high standards
Would certainly return if again visiting lovely Derbyshire.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunflower186368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your time here with us at Ellen House. It is good to know that we succeed in our aim to offer accommodation of a high standard. Showers can be tricky, I will ensure that I give clear instructions regarding its use! Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just had 3 fantastic nights in Ellen House. Every thing was what you would expect and more. John & Anne not only provide top class accommodation, but also produced breakfasts fit for a king, i would certainly recommend the frittata as an alternative to the usual bacon eggs etc, we will be returning as soon as possible

Room Tip: Garden room lets you enjoy the early morning birds sing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suejim39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellen House

Property: Ellen House
Address: 37 Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 3LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellen House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellen House offers a special stay with the emphasis on excellent service, comfortable rooms and good food. We have a varied English breakfast as well as innovative vegatarian and vegan dishes. We are in the Peak District and close to Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ellen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing