We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place”
Review of Ellen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ellen House
Ranked #7 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Spent a couple of days in matlock march 2012 and found this place.
Booked and received a very friendly call from the owner to confirm everything.
When we arrived they were friendly and very polite.
room was brilliant and looked newly decorated. We loved the biscuits in the room.
brilliant view over there gardens from our room where we watched the squirrels.
All in all an exceptional stay, and we are hoping to come back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for this review, we are pleased that you took the time to post it. We still provide the same biscuits, (crunchies made using my Mom's recipe). The squirrel (nicely rounded and in good condition!) is also still here, and still manages to get to the bird seed that John puts out for the birds. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

I was in Matlock for one night on a business trip. With stunning views, it is a great gateway to the Peak District. At Ellen House, a short walk from the station, Anne could not have been friendlier. My room was modern and well decorated, with lots of thoughtful touches, like magazines to read. The breakfast was wonderful, featuring pears poached by Anne and eggs poached by John. I also noticed my favourite Dorset Cereals muesli. If I'm in the district again, I would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. The Peak District is really stunning and we are fortunate to be right on the edge of the National Park. We are glad that you enjoyed the personal touches, I am an avid reader myself, so can never resist stocking the rooms with magazines! The poached pears are a new addition to our fruit options, and have had many rave reviews, it will definitely be a more permanent item in the colder months! Looking forward to a return visit.
John & Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I have just stayed the weekend at Ellen House for our first wedding anniversary and we would not have changed anything.

Anne and John were the most marvellous hosts and we would recommend them to anyone. The breakfasts were superb - the vegetarian choice was excellent and varied, well beyond the norm - and we felt totally at home.

The room had a veritable encyclopaedia of tourist information in it, the house was within walking distance of all the local amenities, and there were even home-made flapjacks every day in a little pot in the room.

Superb! Thank you!

Room Tip: My wife liked our room (Ilangi, no.2), but after a look round said she might have preferred no.4 as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

What a lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially as it was such an important date for you. We do try hard to make our vegetarian choices special and interesting and don't substitute the meat with vegetarian sausages, something our vegetarian guests always appreciate. Hope we will see you for the next anniversary as well!
Anne & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed as a family group to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. Anne and John are amazing hosts nothing too much trouble. The bedrooms were lovely with extras such as homemade flapjacks and bottles of water. The breakfasts were brilliant starting with a fantastic selection of fresh fruit followed by a good choice of cooked breakfast. It was in a great position for exploring the area with a only a very short walk into town with lots of options for eating in the evening. Anne and John also provided much information for things to do in the area.
Would definitely recommend Ellen House to anyone wishing to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

It was a pleasure to be part of this special celebration organised by your family. Thank you for posting this review, it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast choice, guests always like our fresh fruit platter with the yoghurt!. We do have a lovely position, the fact that we are so close to town and restaurants is really useful, it means you don't have to drive anywhere!
John & Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here for one night and would of loved to stay for ever perfect hosts beautifully kept house and as for the breakfast just like the hosts amazing thank you Anne and John you made us very welcome.....The murphys

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murph47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you, it was a pleasure. We will keep on providing those breakfasts!
John & Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here just for one night, but would have loved to stay for two. Our room was small but perfectly formed, made up beautifully with all of the usual bits and pieces but with the added extra of two bottles of mineral water and a pot of home-made flapjacks. The bathroom was also small but again had everything we needed.
Breakfast was gorgeous with a nice surprise of some fresh fruit with greek yoghurt, followed by our choice of cooked breakfast which was perfect again.
The hosts are charming.
If I was to be staying near Matlock again, I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooeyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we really appreciate it. So glad that you felt that we provide everything to make your stay comfortable with enough packing space in the rooms and bathrooms. It is a pleasure to provide all the extras!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Anne and John are very welcoming and friendly hosts, who made our stay very relaxed and comfortable. Anne's attention to detail and extra thoughtful touches, together with John's delicious cooked breakfast, they make a great team! We can highly recommend Ellen House. A great location for exploring the area. The only downside was that our stay went too quickly! We will return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you very much for this lovely review, it is good to know that you felt relaxed and comfortable in our B&B. We also appreciate the fact that you would recommend us, no higher praise than that! Looking forward to a return visit.
John & Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 54 in Matlock
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 54 in Matlock
444 reviews
3.3 mi away
Deeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellen House

Address: 37 Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 3LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £78 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellen House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellen House offers a special stay with the emphasis on excellent service, comfortable rooms and good food. We have a varied English breakfast as well as innovative vegatarian and vegan dishes. We are in the Peak District and close to Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Ellen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing