We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything about this place is top quality.”
Review of Ellen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ellen House
Ranked #7 of 53 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

I came here for a getaway with my boyfriend. I can honestly say we have never felt so welcome anywhere. Anne and John were so welcoming and polite, taking time to speak to us and get to know us. Our room was lovely and spacious, very clean and felt like a home from home. Every day we were left little home baked goods in our room which we felt was such a nice personal touch.

Every breakfast we were treated to fruit and home made crumbles, as well as home made jams and marmalades. The cooked breakfasts were healthy and fuelled you up for the day. Safe to say we loved the grilled mushrooms with Stilton cheese!

The location is excellent, a less than five minute walk from the station/Sainsburys, yet it is a quiet location off the main road. The village shops and restaurants were a short walk away too.

We cannot wait to come back here again next year. It was simply beautiful. Thank you, John and Anne.

Steph and Bonn x

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

A lovely review, thank you very much! I am lucky to have a sister who makes my jams and marmalades, and our bacon and sausages come from our local butcher who recently won the best local producer award, so we know our products are top quality. My crunchies are always a crowd pleaser and what can I say about John's mushrooms, they are so popular I have promised to include them in a recipe book when we retire! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, you were lovely guests and it will be great to have you back again.
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Everything about this place is top quality: The rooms are very high standard with great attention to detail; the breakfasts are a gastronomic feast; and Anne and John are the perfect hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you very much for your recommendation. We do try hard to maintain our high standards. We are so glad that the breakfasts were a hit, we add something new to the menus from time to time so that returning guests can have something new to look forward to - that is if we can pursuade them to change from their favourites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Full marks here! What a fantastic wellcome and the feeling of being part of the family persists. As a Dutchman I could speak my language and they could understand me and the other way around. The rooms are fine and everywhere those African artifacts in furniture and fittings (I had the "Ilanga"room (ilanga). John & Anne run the place and breakfast is John's specialty. You won't regret and you'll never forget staying with them.

Room Tip: On the backside (Ilanga-room) you can oversea their vegetable garden/market garden and you see the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaboskabouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we are glad you were able to speak your home language and be understood! Our home does show our African roots as all rooms have at least one piece of furniture or art that we brought over with us from South Africa (even the rooms have Zulu names). It is pleasing to know that you appreciate the character of our house.
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have stayed at Ellen House each Chatsworth Show weekend for the last decade. When Ruth, the original landlady, left to care for her father, we were a bit concerned that whoever took the B&B on would not match up, we shouldnt have worried, John and Anne are fantastic hosts, always chatty and welcoming, they keep the house and garden in superb condition, Also John makes the most scrumptious breakfasts.
The view from the garden takes in the castle and lots of wildlife, most amusing is the squirrel which nicks all the birds nuts, much to Johns disdane.
The house is well situated as a base for wider exploring and a stones throw from the railway station, this also encompasses the Peak Steam rail line.
Great place and great people

Room Tip: Have reduced Sleep Quality by a notch as the wall between the garden room and the room at front is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazGuffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you so much for posting this review, a decade, who can believe it! Very pleased that we met your expectations all those years ago and that you are still enjoying your annual stay with us. We work hard to keep the house and garden in tip top condition, apart from making scrumptious breakfasts, John is also a great handyman! We do have a lovely garden (and a squirrel!) He is so busy collecting nuts at the moment that he is not too interested in the bird seed, I think John is actually missing him! Thank you once again and see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was our 4th visit to "Ellen House" It is the friendliest place, the owners Anne & John make you feel part of the family. The rooms have all little extra's in, not like other B&B's. Anne's homemade cookies, jams,etc. Mags and other soft furnishings are great little touches, Fantastic!!
John cooks a great breakfast, (try the mushrooms) nothing to much trouble, (works hard for his keep) LOL!! On arrival John removed his car from his garage so we could put our Trumph tigers in there, (without us asking), he also did this on our last vist. Thank you for that it was well appreciated.
What more can we say but,(Arial) if you are looking for a great place to stay in "Matlock" this is the one. Well done and we will be back.

Room Tip: Room with the patio doors is so lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebiR104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for posting such a lovely review, it was a pleasure to welcome you back to Ellen House. We are so pleased that you still enjoy my crunchies and John's breakfast, I will remember to keep him chained to the stove! It was not a problem providing parking, John loved having the 4 bikes in the garage. Looking forward to your next visit.
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in Ellen House for one week, commencing 3/8/13. The Family Room was wonderful, and furnished and cleaned to a high standard. Anne left yummie treats for us every day . The breakfasts were wonderful and included fresh fruit, scruptious sausages and bacon, perfect eggs , homemade jams and marmalade, and the most delicious mushrooms we have ever tasted!!!. Anne and John are the most wonderful, welcoming and interesting hosts. The garden was beautiful with its resident squirrell hanging from a tree stealing the bird seeds! Matlock and surrounding areas are a wonderful place to visit. However, staying in such a wonderful place made our holiday a truly marvellous experience. We intend to visit you again next year.Thank you Anne and John. With love, Nadia, Nadia ( daughter) , Emily and summer x

Room Tip: Fmily room was great and there was enough space for 4 peolpe to move around freely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

What a superb review, thank you very much! We are so pleased that you found the breakfast delicious, John's mushrooms are always a hit with our guests. So pleased that you found Matlock and the surrounding villages such an appealing area for families, there is truly a lot to do and see. It was a pleasure to have you and your family and we enjoyed your company thoroughly. It will be great to have you and the girls back again, we look forward to the next visit. Thank you as well for remembering to ask about Duke.
John & Anne (and Duke the bull dog)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Spent a couple of days in matlock march 2012 and found this place.
Booked and received a very friendly call from the owner to confirm everything.
When we arrived they were friendly and very polite.
room was brilliant and looked newly decorated. We loved the biscuits in the room.
brilliant view over there gardens from our room where we watched the squirrels.
All in all an exceptional stay, and we are hoping to come back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for this review, we are pleased that you took the time to post it. We still provide the same biscuits, (crunchies made using my Mom's recipe). The squirrel (nicely rounded and in good condition!) is also still here, and still manages to get to the bird seed that John puts out for the birds. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
5.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 53 in Matlock
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 53 in Matlock
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellen House

Address: 37 Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 3LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £80 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellen House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellen House offers a special stay with the emphasis on excellent service, comfortable rooms and good food. We have a varied English breakfast as well as innovative vegatarian and vegan dishes. We are in the Peak District and close to Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ellen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing