We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautifully appointed cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
geoffnic
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautifully appointed cottage”
Reviewed 10 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is close to all the amenities Matlock has to offer with a very friendly pub almost next door. The cottage itself is spacious and tastefully decorated without losing any of the character of an old building. The addition of a gas BBQ in the back garden meant we were able to make the best of the glorious weather.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Thank you for your review. You certainly landed a wonderful week to enjoy the outside spaces. Keeping as much character of the old cottage inside and out was very important to us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, we hope you choose to visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel726...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in excellent location”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Rose Cottage is well placed in Matlock with a lovely walk through the park to the shops and to cafes and restaurants in Dale Road. Very friendly pub almost next door which also serves good food.

The cottage has been beautifully restored to a very high standard and is very well presented. The owners were very helpful and considerate and provided a good welcome pack and useful information booklet. All the rooms were very comfortable and well furnished and there were 2 outside seating areas for barbecues or just enjoying the sun.

Matlock is a really friendly and well kept town with lots of local attractions. We would highly recommend staying at Rose Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Thank you very much for making the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed Matlock and your stay at Rose Cottage. The Red Lion Pub is always a winner with our guests and works well for an easy lunch or tea. We are really pleased to read such lovely comments and very grateful that you shared them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prueclark
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovingly cared for cottage”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful cottage, 3 good bedrooms, one bathroom with shower and bath, and a downstairs toilet. Every need catered for. Welcome pack of groceries with extras. A lovely back yard that is a sun trap and parking for two cars at the front.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All your positive comments are very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaC079...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful house and lovely owners. Their attention to detail shines through this fab place. Minutes walk to Matlock Park and cafes. Perfect holiday home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2018
Thank you so much Paula. It was a pleasure to be able to welcome you and your family to Rose Cottage to celebrate your mothers Birthday. We are so glad you all enjoyed it! We hope to see you again…
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PERFECT MODERN COTTAGE”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

I’ve visited the cottage twice. Everything is new, modern and spotlessly clean. There is a beautiful fire in the living room. Parking for two cars. Five minute slow walk to centre of Matlock. Beautiful view of a hill from the front.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Adam & Family, Thanks for finding the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We are glad that everything has been ok for you again and that you all enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurijohn...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

“Our first impression of rose cottage was WOW and didnt change throughout the week. The cottage was gorgeous with lovely views. You can see a lot of love and hard work has went into it and everything was of high standard. A lot of extras we didnt expect such as toys for the children, books and magazines, a welcome hamper even lovely bedding for the cotbed. Couldnt recommend it enough. Cant wait for our next visit.”

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Lauri & John, Thank you for all your positive comments. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJM74
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated cottage.”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Rose Cottage is beautifully decorated and very well equipped. It was a very comfortable place to stay and to catch up with friends. It is close to the park so great for children or just taking a morning stroll to the coffee shop. Matlock is close to walking and other attractions. We would definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay at Rose Cottage and that you would consider returning. Of course we would be more than happy to welcome you back! Please feel free to make enquiries for future dates as we are starting to take booking for next year already!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing