We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy here (again)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
Ranked #16 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Happy here (again)”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here again on business.
This changed hands very recently, staff are lovely, some attention has been paid to the rooms.
The regulars in the pub are still as funny and good to talk to as the last time. The food was excellent and the wine list sufficient. I didn't see a reason to venture out to find another place for entertainment or dinner.
Nothing to fault! Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DontCareAboutName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    67
    27
    16
    21
See reviews for
39
111
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Even though our party had booked the pub did not open on time.they were short staffed (only one barman. Who also served the meals) meals ok but empty plates not cleared away.Ordered coffee but grew tired of waiting and we all left with no apology.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mazza9744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This pub is about a mile from Matlock, up a very long and steep hill! The room was not in the main building but in a separate converted outhouse up some steps next to the carpark. It was cold, mismatched, and small. The en-suite was a tiny room with shower (loose shower head fitting), wc, and tiny sink (complete with leaking hot water unit). There was mould on the walls and unsightly gaps between the shower surround and the floor. The meal in the restaurant was equally disappointing with none of the fish on the menu available, even as early as 7 pm! To cap it all, the manager tried to insist we pay double the price of the wine we had ordered because his staff had apparently served a different Rioja which was listed obscurely on the back of the menu, the rest of the wines being on the inside pages of the menu. This even though we had to open the wine ourselves as the staff were unable to do it!

Room Tip: Find rooms somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The bathroom was not clean, the windows full of cobwebs with resident spider. The main room had stains on the carpet. Definitely over-priced. Never have two travellers been so relieved to be moving on to a Travelodge!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minifan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed here on Business for two nights and enjoyed it much more than the usual Hiltons and Marriots. Granted – the rooms are basic but the bed was very comfy!
The Dinner in the Pub was great both nights.
The rooms are quirky and lovely. It was spotless, but some attention needs to be put to the Bathrooms, just a quick job of replacing the Silicon around the wet areas and maybe some re-grouting of the tiles.
Overall, very impressive for such a small place and if the wedding party the day before didn't have ruined all the Irons I would have been able to Iron my shirt too :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DontCareAboutName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the B&B for a wedding. The staff were friendly however the room was basic for the amount paid. The furniture in the room was very mismatched and a little odd. The bath room was the most disappointing. It was very basic with very little space and poor toiletries on offer. The fan stayed on for a good 15 minutes after you had turned the light off, and you could hear the next door room's fan. Overall if we had paid less I may have been less dissapinted.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here as we were in matlock for a wedding, arrived late afternoon and was shown to the room by a young lady behind the bar very nice and chatty.
The room was very basic with just a bed t.v and tea and coffee making facilities. No chair or anything to sit on other than the bed.
The bedding and towels were clean altho the quilt cover had a paper stick on label saying double duvet on!
I think the room was very over priced at £65 per night with no breakfast included, that was an extra £5 each and was asked for upfront with the fee for the room before even being shown it.
Overall it did the job but in any other circumstance we would have looked for a different place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XxLoobylouxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
2.1 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
241 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
301 reviews
1.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Wellington Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Wellington Country Inn

Property: The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
Address: 115 Wellington Street, Matlock DE4 3GX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duke of Wellington Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Duke of Wellington Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Wellington Country Hotel Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing