We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond.”
Review of The Shalimar

The Shalimar
Ranked #2 of 129 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Above and beyond.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I have never felt the need to write a review, until now. We were greeted with a warm welcome by friendly staff.

Our waiter discussed the menu and asked about our preferences for spices and after selecting our mains he brought some samples of our dishes to ensure we were comfortable with the level of spices.

The meal was superb, with well balanced flavours and one of the best naan breads in ages.

We would certainly recommend this restaurant to all, well worth the visit.

Please pass on our thanks to the whole of the team.

Mick and Suzanne

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review, your observations and showers of compliments have been relayed to our staff and we accept it with pride.
We strive constantly to exceed expectations of our customers and we are delighted to know that you all had a memorable time with us here at The Shalimar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,523
    176
    52
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Personalized dish”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a warm welcome and friendly attentive staff. The food came at the pace we wanted-nothing rushed and nothing waited for. When I asked for a raita with spinach instead of cucumber, it was made specially for me-I've often requested this in other restaurants, but have always been told it wasn't an option. I was delighted when the manager told me he had made an extra portion for himself to eat later.
The food was excellent and there were a few dishes on the menu that were new to me. The generous sized chapatis were the best I've tasted.
Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We sincerely thank you for such a fantastic review.
The Shalimar works hard to provide you with an excellent dining experience and we are thrilled that you had a memorable time with us. The spinach raita was an excellent choice and I really enjoyed it later. I think it would go perfectly with a really spicy dish to cool and refresh afterwards. We look forward to welcoming you all again next time you visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday meal”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We're all firm fans of The Shalimar and use the take away service a fair bit. My husband said that was his choice for his birthday meal out so we booked for 8 of us including our son.

As always the greeting was warm and friendly, the service was attentive and the food was really excellent with generous portions and all served together.

There was another large party in that evening as well as us which could have been disruptive in terms of service or noise but it didn't cause a problem.

Thank you everyone, another great evening there, we'll be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRawas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are immensely delighted that you found your evening with us such a memorable occasion and sincerely thank you for your fantastic feedback. We pride ourselves in our true ability to deliver a high quality dining experience which can be enjoyed by all, regardless of how busy we may be. We look forward to seeing you again The Shalimar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I recently held my retirement party for 17 colleagues at the Shalimar. We had a set meal for everyone and there was lots of choice and plenty to eat. Everyone enjoyed it and made positive comments. The restaurant is nicely set out with plenty of space around the tables. The service is second to none! Well done, and thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We sincerely appreciate your views and observations. Your compliments have been relayed to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon many thanks The Shalimar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to visit Shalimar on the last night of our holiday having read so many good reviews.

We weren't disappointed; really lovely food, great service and reasonably priced although we ordered far too much and barely walked out we were so stuffed.

We weren't blown away so plumped for 4 stars, but would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys this type of cuisine.

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Manager at The Shalimar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
The Shalimar thanks you for your lovely feedback and we sincerely appreciate your views and observations. We are glad you had an enjoyable time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shalimar also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing