We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal!”
Review of The Shalimar

The Shalimar
Ranked #3 of 149 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The meal was absolutely amazing and the staff to match! Will be coming back soon! Definitely recommend to all!

Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow what can I say to such a fantastic review thank you for sharing your experience with other trip advisor members. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Shalimar at Sunday lunch time, we had the buffet which was £14.95 per head. We had 2 poppadoms and pickles, 2 starters and they brought us 4 curries out and Bombay potatoes, rice and Naan. I told them I was vegetarian and they made my curries from scratch. The staff were so helpful and the food was amazing. Will definetley be going back.

Thank Holly_May_9284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Fantastic comments thank you so much for taking the time to post them on Trip Advisor and share them with other trip advisor members. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the buffet on Sunday lunch it's very popular .Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to seeing you again very soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visit the Shalimar regularly and am never disappointed!

The food, staff and restaurant are all fantastic.

I had the chicken bhuna last night which was delicious.

Keep up the good work!

Thank Olly_Millward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great review thank you for sharing your experience with other trip advisor members and taking the time to post your excellent comments on their website. Look forward to seeing you again very soon for another memorable dining experience with us at the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading reviews for the Shalimar, and receiving local recommendations, i was looking forward to out takeaway from the Shalimar.
The food was prepared and was ready on time.
Whilst the popodums and chutney were good, the CHicken Korma was very much a second rate curry, which left me very disapointed to say the least. It was bland - even by Korma standards with a very lumpy consitancy to the sauce. The chicken i found to be under cooked.
So, nice started followed by second rate curry and rice.
Not to be recommended and very much disapointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 923Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Very disappointing review I just don't understand how one of our main dishes was not to your taste on the evening in question we sold many Korma dishes and had nothing but praise. Am so sorry that you didn't enjoy yours and only wish that you had called us so I could have sent you a replacement curry .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food with polite and prompt service. Large portions but not the most extensive menu. Will definitely go again as they gave us a voucher as It was our first visit. It was busy and glad we booked first( sat night)

Thank natredwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Have passed your praise onto the team who like myself thank you for sharing your experience with other trip advisor members. So pleased that you enjoyed your first visit with us at the restaurant and look forward to seeing you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shalimar also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Stoney Middleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing