We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing as ever 😀”
Review of The Shalimar

The Shalimar
Ranked #3 of 152 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Simply the best Indian food we’ve ever had! Staff are fantastic nothings to much trouble.. especially Ali 5⭐️

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you so much for your excellent comments and posting them on trip advisor. I have passed your praise onto the team who like myself look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Another fabulous meal, amazing service. This is by far the best Indian restaurant EVER..... Fantastic staff, nothing is too much trouble for them. They are attentive and always asking if you are ok..... It's completely faultless in every way!!!!! Can't wait for my next visit.... Keep those mini bottles of Prosecco on ice.. Fantastic place ❤❤❤❤

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank cannonhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

I am lost for words what a fantastic review thank you so much for taking the time to post it on trip advisor. I have passed your praise onto the team . It really makes everything we do worthwhile when we receive reviews like yours. I have told them to put the on ice and we eagerly await your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Best service yet, (efficient and warm), non-greasy food and beautifully cooked, attention to detail, pleasant atmosphere. Stopped here spontaneously as the nicely lit restaurant allured us in. Will definitely go back for more and try a different tantalising dish!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bernardine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Many thanks for the positive review and taking the time to post it on trip advisor. The team and myself are so pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Yet again great food and service from this restaurant, we visit Chatsworth Country Fair every year and then dine here for great food and service from friendly staff, would well recommend anyone visiting the area to try this restaurant, you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank chrispycock64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

It was great to see you again thank you so much for your glowing review and taking the time to post it on trip advisor. We hoped that you would visit us again when you visited the country fair an look forward to seeing you again next year .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

One of the best Indians I've ever been to!! It was so fresh and full of flavour. Service was fast and attentive, very friendly. The reviews are dead on, so glad we went. Wish we could go back again and again! (We visited on holiday, not locals!)

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank N6717PGruthm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Fabulous 5 star review thank you for sharing your experience with other trip advisor members. The team and myself look forward to seeing you again next time you visit the Peak District .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shalimar also viewed

 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 

Been to The Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing