We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very RUDE man - owner of B&B”
Review of Old Bank Cafe Bar

Old Bank Cafe Bar
Ranked #66 of 126 Restaurants in Matlock
Price range: US$0 - US$24
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very RUDE man - owner of B&B”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Can't believe this mans aggressive attitude towards his paying guests. Having stayed in the Old Bank Cafe B&B for one night (thank god) we was exposed to air fresher after air fresher to hide the musty smell of all the rooms, the bedding was worn and ripped and the duvets being very thin where dreadful and old. The owner is very confrontational and has an attitude he does not give a S--- ........ Whilst we was all out in Matlock for the night he seemed to be in every pub we went in to the point we felt we was being watched. Was made to feel like naughty school children bearing in mind we are all in our 40,s and are respectable hardworking people.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Halsesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    3
    1
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extremely Rude staff!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The staff was very rude, sounded racist(I may be wrong), but no manners at all. The person had no manners to talk and kept saying does not care. Amazing. Just two days in to UK and this rude attitude does not reflect well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shehryar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“" what a rude,bad tempered man! "”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

would never stay here ever again. what a rude, bad tempered man Paul is when he has had a drink! . went for the night out with a few friends in Matlock bath. ended up at the fishpond pub to see the live band. had a great time, the place and staff are brill. Initially Paul was very welcoming, but later on after we got back from the pub, I think he wanted us to put our pyjamas on and go to sleep! he entered our rooms without knocking and was loud, aggressive and confrontational. rooms are very shabby and are not worth what he charges. never been anywhere with so many cheap air fresheners! we didn't bother with breakfast because we just wanted to get out a.s.a.p.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank notts m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe for breakfast”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Ate here for breakfast when having a day out with the husband for our anniversary. Host was welcoming, pleasant and courteous. Lovely relaxing surroundings and atmosphere. Vegetarian breakfast was lovely and large. Husband has a sausage and egg barm and enjoyed his. Coffee was lovely and host offered us a free cup on the house. A lovely gesture. Prices slightly expensive however, for location in Matlock and a restaurant/cafe environment it felt appropriate. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank julieclews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best cafe bar by far”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Made a 100 mile round trip with my wife today just for the best breakfast you will find anywhere followed by baileys bread and butter pudding with ice cream, excellent food and service with pleasant friendly staff,recommended ,if anyone wants good food with great service this is the place to go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Bank Cafe Bar also viewed

Matlock Bath, Matlock
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 

Been to Old Bank Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing