We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable B & B”
Review of Dane Cottage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dane Cottage
Ranked #42 of 53 Matlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a wonderful time we had, a very friendly warm welcome from Mr. Hounsome, the bedroom as comfortable as ever, and nice and warm on a cold wet evening, Breakfast was delicious. Great value for money for Two nights stay.. This is our second visit, and would be pleased to return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalmatian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
There are newer reviews for Dane Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

An excellent place to stay! We were attending a wedding and needed 2 rooms close by. Vic was walking distance from the venue and more than happy to accommodate us! Comfortable beds, warm room, fluffy towels, huge bathroom with plenty of hot water! When you add to that an excellent breakfast with a vegetarian and a Gluten free diet catered for with no hassle at all, you have the perfect place to stay!
Vic you are total gem, an excellent cook and a wicked sense of humour! If we ever come to Matlock again - we're coming to stay with you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Have to agree with previous poster with regards to decor, but that is not a criticism at all.

Our room was warm with very good double glazing which nullified traffic noise....the bed was comfy and afforded us a good nights sleep...the room was nice and clean with plenty of coat hangers in the wardrobe...the shared bathroom (shared with the only other room on this side of the premises) was large and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was very good with something for everyone (a good full English..well cooked).

Next door stands The Duke of Wellington which we thought a decent pub,although we only ventured there once after climbing back up the hill. A welcome pint indeed !!!!

All in all....a very good value B&B and was excellent for the price (£45). We had stayed in a Shropshire B&B a few weeks earlier for a family wedding and paid nearly twice Vic's asking price and couldn't find a good word to say about it.

Would we stay here again? Most definitely.
Would we recommend it? Yes for the value....no if you want luxury.

Keep up the good work Vic.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casbar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Decor is a little dated and scruffy in places (but very clean), but this is a fantastic B&B if you can't afford the prices charged by everyone else.
We were given a warm welcome and our host (Vic), catered excellently for our eating requirements (one vegan, one wheat AND dairy free - very difficult to accomodate!).
Room was cosy and comfortable with a modern TV, good windows and central heating.
It is at the top of a very steep hill, which means great views, but if you don't have a car it's a bit of a challenge.
Shared bathroom, but only with one other room and we had it to ourselves for most of our stay. Where we were in the house there were 2 twin rooms sharing 1 bathroom, so for 4 people travelling together, you would effectively have your own private bathroom, for £20 per room per night less than the competition.
Beds were not the most comfortable, but all the hill walking ensured a good night's sleep anyway!
Definitely excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JellyCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Vic at Dane cottage basically saved the day for us - we had a wedding to go to in cromford and our original Sunnybank (I highly recommend you don't stay there!!!) had screwed us over and told us we could not stay there the night before we were due to arrive.

I had to take the day off work and desparately searched round for places most of which were either fully booked or way too expensive. I had almost given up then I came across Dane cottage. I spoke to Vic who basically told me everything I wanted to hear.

The room was large and excellent value for money - you won't find better value anywhere else in the cromford area. A the breakfast is amazing I think probably the best i've ever had a bnb. Theres also a pub close by if you fancy a social drink.

Vic was very friendly and is very easy going, hes just the sort of host you need when you've come half way accross the country!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crom1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
0.8 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#2 of 53 in Matlock
443 reviews
14.9 mi away
Long Chimneys Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
313 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
124 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dane Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dane Cottage

Address: 111 Wellington Street, Matlock DE4 3GX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing