We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barton House
Ranked #33 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Superb b & b. Lovely owners and nothing too much trouble. Excellent base for wonderful walks. Great power shower !! Fantastic breakfast. Really enjoyed ourselves. Hope to return to Derbyshire again soon. Thank you !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecavanaghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at Fernlea in Matlock for three nights and had a wonderful weekend break. The B&B is within easy walking distance of Matlock, which itself is an excellent base for seeing the Peak District.

Sue was friendly and welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble for her. Our en-suite room was lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was also a great power shower to wake you up in the morning, as well as Sky TV and wi-fi (although we did not use it).

Sue cooked a lovely breakfast for my husband with locally sourced sausages and bacon, as well as a perfect bowl of porridge for me each morning which I specifically asked for. We would definitely stay at Fernlea again the next time we visit Derbyshire. Thanks, Sue!

Room Tip: There is just one room, which is quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellehiggswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My wife and i stayed at fernlea for 3 night's while meeting friends from the midland,s . We were greeted at the door by Sue with a welcoming smile,,we were asked if we would like a brew as soon as we were indoor's ,shown our room , which was nice and clean , it also included sat t v and wi-fi which was free and very quick . We were told to treat her house as our's and to come and go as we wished . we were out for the day/evening and on our return the tea/coffee/milk was in our room , heating was on so we had to open a window for the night,we mentioned to sue and she turned our heating off with no bother.The morning breakfast was very good ,oatcakes sausage bacon mushrooms tomatoes beans egg toast cereal fresh fruit honey marmalade , this was not the menu it was the breakfast . Fernlea is only 5 min's walk from Matlock centre . a great 3 day's

Room Tip: Just ask Sue
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights. Sue, who runs the place, was incredibly welcoming. Fantastic breakfasts and lovely, quiet en suite room with Sky TV and wi-fi. Absolutely perfect. Next time we go walking in the Peaks we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed at this B & B in October for 4 nights. We usually go for hotels but got a good feel from the website. What can I say you are welcomed as though you are one of the family, the bedroom is classy and comfortable with full sky tv and wi fi in with the price which is relatively unusual in my experience even in hotels. The power shower wakes you up beautifully and Sue the landlady cooks the most beautiful breakfast, full English. If you don't want this there is fruit, cereals, yoghurts everything you could thing of, but as the bacon and sausages are all from local butchers well worth trying.

We will return felt so welcome and at home

Room Tip: I believe there is just one room available which ensures great individual attention
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summertime37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
235 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
1.1 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedar House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Ellen House
Ellen House
#7 of 51 in Matlock
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton House

Property: Barton House
Address: 270 Bakewell Road, Matlock DE4 3BN, England (Formerly Fernlea)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barton House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We focus on providing a peaceful and relaxing stay. Detached property, conveniently located, set back from the A6 and just 1 mile from Matlock town centre and railway station with ample parking. Ideal location for cycling and walking (our passion - so we can point you to some great walks). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing