We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Riber Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riber Hall
Reviewed 8 June 2008

This is a lovely period property with plenty of charm, but it simply does not live up to the price tag. The room was nicely furnished with a four poster bed, but the noise of the TV from the room above was an irritation, as was the phone in our room which did not work.
The biggest disappointment by far however was the restaraunt which promises top class cuisine (and at £45 a head it should do!) but actually delivered massively bland, ordinary food. Presentation was poor, both the duck and the halibut were overcooked and we, along with several other diners had to send our food back.
By all means choose Riber Hall to stay at as a pleasant location and a place with history, but don't eat there and certainly don't expect 5 star service or facilities. There is far better in the vicinity at this price.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank poshnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2008

This hotel has recently changed hands and oh my goodness what a differnce with a few sutble changes and the plans the owners have things should start to fly all of the staff i encountered were fantastic no problems at all any other rteveiw on here dated befor october 07 are now very much out of date.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank city4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We stayed over easter weekend and had an excellent experience.

The view from the Barker room was fantastic and matched by really friendly and helpful service, a well thought out room and a gorgeous location (inside and out).

The food was excellent on both the nights we ate in the restaurant and service prior to dinner, during and afterwards was attentive, unintrusive and professional.

What made this place really excellent, in addition to the obvious highlights of setting and building (both of which were beautiful) was the attention to detail and the friendliness of the staff who made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank BWCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank sarahchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2006

Stayed: February 2006
8  Thank Cher_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2006

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank BW2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
5.4 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#2 of 53 in Matlock
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riber Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riber Hall

Address: Riber Hall, Matlock DE4 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Matlock
Price Range: £150 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can book 1-10 bedrooms 9 of which are four posters exclusive hire comes with use of kitchen/dining room with marble tables and conservatory both reach through the walled garden either down some stone stairs or over the lawn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Riber Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riber Hall Hotel Matlock
Riber Hall Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing