We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely property, wonderful location”

Review of Thornleigh

Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV. Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Check Availability
Very good
33 reviews
Large fully equipped Kitchen-Diner with seating for upto 13
Comfortable sitting room with seating for 12 and freeview TV.
Master bedroom with four poster, luxury en suite with walkin shower.
Luxury hot tub in enclosed landscaped garden with wooden seating and cycle storage.
Downstairs bedroom with en suite
Large top floor bedroom with super king or 2 singles plus luxury en suite
Games room with sauna, pool/table tennis table/table football plus table top skittles
Double bedroom plus en suite
Roll top bath in family bathroom.
bedroom with 2 singles and period fireplace
Luxury hot tub
Hall Leys Park Matlock
Hall Leys Park band stand Matlock
Riber castle Matlock
Peak District dry stone wall
nosy Peak District sheep
Relax at Thornleigh after that walk
stepping stones
Peak District
Dry stone wall
Mam Tor ridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ni_kii_8
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely property, wonderful location”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed at this property for a Hen Party in Feb 2014.

The property is adorable and was an adequate size for the 13 of us that stayed. The rooms come in a variety of shapes and sizes, with a mixture of double and single beds in each. There is a nice living area with a TV that we utilised on the day we left. The kitchen is wonderful and became the hub of the weekend (there was coffee and tea left by the owner which was a lovely touch) as it is so large, with a lovely country feel.

The hot-tub is a lovely touch (and utilised often) but don't bring your best costume (there is quite a bit of chlorine) and bring flip flops for the hop across the flags from the kitchen to the tub itself.

The only thing that was an issue was parking. We were all coming from different places and so there were quite a few cars to park. The drive fits around 3 cars on it, but the street has quite heavy parking restrictions (and the police station is on the corner of the street). We all managed to park but this did involve some walking as we had to park a few streets over.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub
Liked least: The parking issues
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty W
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Property”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Thorneligh the first weekend of November for my Hen weekend. I can not fault any aspect of the house - it is absolutely amazing and a truly luxurious venue. The welcome pack when we arrived was a lovely touch. We had to drag ourselves out of the hot tub and sauna. All rooms were presented and finished to a high standard and there was plenty of space for 13 of us in the house. The owners were also really accomodating and were great at recommending restaurants and activites in the local area. We had a local beauty salon come to the house to provide us with spa treatements as well as a very fun knicker making class. Would also definitely recommend Stones Restaurant, a very short walk away, for a gorgeous meal by the river. I am already looking for another excuse to stay here for the weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andy19583
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous would unreservedly reccomend.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

4 generations of our family spent a weekend. The house is very well equipped and very tastefully decorated. All the adults had ensuite bathrooms. The hot tub was great. It is unusual for at least one of us not to find something to complain about but we were all more than happy and are already talking about returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub, the games room and the enormous dining kitchen.
Liked least: Liked everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian L
Westhoughton
1 review
“excellent holiday rental, didn't want to leave.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stopped there for my hen do and it was a gorgeous house. Everything you need, stylish yet cosy and homely. The kitchen and living room areas are great to get everybody together. The bedrooms gorgeously done and most with ensuites. It's a two minute walk into Matlock and the hot tub made our weekend. Its an ideal place to stop for a group holiday. The owners were more than helpful with recommending places to eat and there's plenty to do in the local area. We spent all Sunday in and out of the hot tub with cocktails. Was a brilliant weekend will definitely be stopping there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub, bedrooms and kitchen
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly M
Framlingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous house for a fun weekend away with friends.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends and our partners (and babies) for a long overdue catch up.

The house was gorgeous with beautiful rooms and a lovely communal kitchen with a huge table where everyone gathered for much of the time. The hot tub was also a bonus and gave it that extra feeling of luxury.

The owners were very accommodating, providing cots for the two babies and also allowing a slightly earlier check in.

It has a great position in the town being just a few minutes walk from the shops, bars, park and train station.

We had a lovely weekend and would highly recommend this house for anyone looking for a relaxed weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub!
Liked least: Games room had a slight musty smell due to being in the basement.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abithomas
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, perfect for a large group of friends or family”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I booked this house for my best friend's hen do. I wanted to find somewhere that had character, style and a higher level of luxury than perhaps your average hen do would be looking for. Right from the start Rachel and Mark (the owners) were very helpful and responded very quickly to every enquiry and question I had. There was a lovely welcome basket for us when we arrived containing a bottle of red wine, tea bags, fresh coffee, chocolates and posh crips. There isn't a key for the house, it is simply a key-code which meant it didn't matter at what point we got to the house after 3pm. Also easy if you're coming and going in groups. The whole house was spotlessly clean when we arrived and all the beds incredibly comfy.

There are several information folders with literally all the information you could ever need - eg how to work the boiler/washing machine/dishwasher/DVD player/TV/hot tub/free WiFi etc etc.

The house itself is a semi-detatched, but we couldn't hear anything of the neighbours next door (so hopefully they couldn't hear us!). It is set over 4 floors - the cellar/basement contains a small sauna, pool table and more board games than I have ever seen!

On the ground flood is a large living room with a wood burner (which we didn't use in June(!) but would be lovely in the winter) 3 sofas and 3 arm chairs. There was a big bowl of sweets in the middle of the coffee table too which was a lovely touch. A flat screen TV with integrated DVD player sits above the mantlepiece. WiFi is free too - big bonus!

There is a twin bedroom on the groundfloor with a beautiful if tiny en-suite shower room.

Next to this is the huge kitchen-dining room. A long table has 2 very long benches either side and comfortably seats 13-14. The kitchen has everything you could want - more crockery than I've ever seen! Every kind of cooking utensil including baking tins, and lots of lovely cookery books too. There is a dishwasher and washing machine (though we didn't use the washing machine).

A door in the kitchen leads to the back yard which is not particularly big but has a large picnic bench and the hot tub. The hot tub went down a treat - it's left on all the time so is ready for you as soon as you arrive at the house. There is also a sauna in the basement but we didn't use this.

On the first floor there are 2 double bedrooms with ensuite shower rooms - done to an incredibly high standard. There is also a twin room which has use of the 'family bathroom' which has a large victorian style roll top bath - bliss! There is a separate WC.

On the second floor there are 2 further bedrooms - one which can have 3 single beds in and one which has 2 singles which can be zipped together to make a kingsized bed. That room also has an ensuite shower room, again done to a very high standard.

All the bed linen was beautifully soft. Fresh towels were on the beds along with little luxury toiletries. All the furniture is in keeping with the age of the house and high ceilings - not a piece of Ikea in sight!

The house is in a perfect location - literally 2 minutes from the park in the centre of Matlock.

A big thank you to Rachel and Mark - it is a beautiful house and we would have loved to stay longer. I strongly suspect we will be back...

For info - no pets allowed, very strict on this one. Steps up to the front door mean not wheelchair friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - stunning house in a perfect location!
Liked least: I think my only, tiny weeny niggle was that there wasn't quite enough loo roll for the weekend and we had to buy some on the Sunday - but that really really is nit-picking!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veeps_12
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Fantastic Weekend”
Reviewed 26 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I organised a weekend at Thornleigh as part of my friends Hen Party. The house was the perfect choice, catering for all our needs, including a hot tub in the garden!! The kitchen was ideal for a large group and provided everything for a fantastic dinner party atmosphere.

The rooms were spacious, with most also including en-suites and the beds were incredibly comfortable. I would definitely organise another weekend away at this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$647
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing