We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, cosy, comfortable and cute”

Review of The Hayloft

The Hayloft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hayloft
Cosy Sitting Room Kitchen and Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
The Hayloft
Cosy Sitting Room
Kitchen and Dining Area
Sitting Room & flat screen TV with freesat
Hayloft Kitchen
Hayloft and courtyard
Courtyard
View from Bedroom Window
View from the garden
Free range chickens - lovely eggs!
Pond and garden
View over the pond from bottom of the garden
Yucca in flower
Rattan table & chairs in courtyard
View from lower garden with newly mowed field
Entrance to courtyard
View towards Darley Hillside after snowfall
View from the bed out onto the courtyard and beyond
View from bottom of the garden with barbecue and seating
Bedroom with Victorian brass & iron bed
Courtyard al-fresco eating area
Freddy & Ginger with the chickens
Walking down the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ChickenNu...
Beckenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, cosy, comfortable and cute”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Very peaceful location, spotlessly clean, well equiped, small but well thought out layout. The Hayloft is basically 2 rooms, a lounge/kitchen and bedroom/ensuite. Lovely high ceilings and beams with gorgeous views from every window.

The owner Cherry was very friendly and helpful and we followed a couple of her recommendations of pubs for food and were very happy with these. Cherry sells fresh eggs from her chickens which were very nice. The gardens are very pretty & there is also a small field with a stream running through it that you can walk around.

We found the location good as we visited Chatsworth, Matlock Bath, Bakewell and Buxton and they were all easy to get to. Darley Dale is nearby and had a small selection of handy shops (a spar shop, post office, chemist and Butchers)

Overall we had a very relaxing short break and can't wait to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sawtry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation was very comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb beautiful scenery, home from home feel and great hospitality”
Reviewed 12 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The location was idyllic and within easy reach of several beautiful walks. We used the house as a base and drove out to follow walks from a guide book. We also used the full kitchen facilities to self-cater, giving the whole holiday a home from home feel. Actually holidayed for around £400 a head - and that included a hire car! Cherry was a wonderful hostess - helpful as can be but not at all intrusive. I can only commend her lovely property and her wonderful manner which really made us feel welcome. Not a holiday you would want to do without a car as the public transport is patchy and it's all single lane A and B roads - but I think that applies to the Peaks as a whole so is hardly a criticism. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel and access to several walks of outstanding beauty
Liked least: No major faults but best for people with a car or willing to take taxis
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Spain
Reviewed 14 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaldonTra...
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“description of property led to disappointment”
Reviewed 24 July 2011 for a stay in August 2010

We were very disappointed with our stay we, were not met by Cherry on arrival and as the picture is decieving it took us a while to work out that Warren Carr Barn was actually an apartment up very steep steps. While I appreciate she was unwell, better directions and arrangments hsould have been made. We were very disappointed with what we felt were very significant attempts to decieve how close this place was to the village. The description advised it was only half a mile to two local pubs, the distance was closer to 1.5 miles which would have been difficult to negotiate at night.
We left early in the end as we felt so unwelcome and uncomfortable. Which is a shame because Derbyshire was beautiful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2011
My name is Cherry the owner of The Hayloft where these guests stayed and I was probably not there to greet them on this one occasion as I was having a hard earned break myself. I am of course there to greet the vast majority of guests and am on call to make sure all their needs are met. The Hayloft is an original old converted hayloft now a first floor luxury apartment. I am sorry if these guests were disappointed but they didn't book Warren Carr Barn which is the name of all the farm buildings and my home; they booked The Hayloft.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$72
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing