We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Derwent House

The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Derwent House Grade II listed Georgian property circa 1753 The main guest lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Derwent House Grade II listed Georgian property circa 1753
The main guest lounge
Superbly equipped large kitchen with additional seating
Master bedroom, with views over Knowleston gardens
Victorial style bathroom, ideal for relaxing after a day walking in the Peak District
Double en-suite room
Twin, en-suite bedroom
Individually designed twin bedroom
The 'old kitchen'  dating from the 17th century. Another lounge room, ideal to sit and chat...
Peak District - a stunning location throughout the year
A view of Bakewell bridge
The River Derwent
Hall Leys Park next to Derwent House
A View of Derbyshire
A country walk followed by lunch at the Eyre Arms?
Ladybower Dam
A welcoming stay awaits
Breakfast in bed?
Ladybower Dam
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jackiereg...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

An amazing house to stay in, every room in the house is finished to a high standard. Very comfortable and cosy. Already booked our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Many thanks for your review. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the house and we are looking forward to your return in 2018. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bev c
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing second visit”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This very spacious house is ideal for a break in the Derbyshire peak district there were 12 of us and the house has everything you could possibly need and more. The kitchen is the best one I have ever cooked in there is every you need we cooked our Sunday lunch on the range style cooker and we all ate in the most beautifully decorated dinning room. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and our en suite room was no exception the bed was very comfortable and the little extras a nice touch. We have booked to go back again next year and we can't wait I strongly advise you to stay at this property you will not be disappointed I promise you. The fresh flowers placed all around the house are a lovely touch too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
Thank you very much. We try to furnish the house considering everything so it is lovely to read this. We are looking forward to seeing you in 2018.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franmarkp...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic 50th”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This house is just fabulous, so clean, modern and with everything you could wish for. It's right in the centre of Matlock next to the park.
Me and my family stayed here for my 50th Birthday. We had a fantastic weekend and will recommend this house to all our friends. Treats were left for the kids and even the dog.! Every attention to detail thought of, thank you so much Damien.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
You are very welcome and I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, particularly as it was a celebration. If you are visiting the area again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn F
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing venue for group getaway”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Fantastic place, super clean and very spacious. The attention to detail was lovely and Damien made sure we were comfortable without feeling his presence next door. Perfect location for exploring and very close to Matlock town so no taxis required in the evening. So good we have booked again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail, everything you could require is provided
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Derwent House. Our central location to the local amenities is a real bonus. I am looking forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky S
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue for our weekend with friends”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our second visit to Derwent House. The venue is perfect for our group of friends. Plenty of space with well furnished and well decorated rooms. The beds are comfortable and the bed linens and duvets are of really good quality and the fresh flowers are a lovely touch. The kitchen is well equipped and we produced a Sunday lunch worthy of the magnificent dining room. We noticed the changes made since our last visit and the hosts strive to continually make the property more appealing and comfortable for the guests.
We love being able to walk into the town for eating and drinking, no taxis or designated drivers and the house is situated in a lovely part of the town near the river and the park. The men in our party visited the local football ground and had an enyoyable afternoon watching Matlock Town we also visited Haddon Hall.
Loads to do. In the local area, a great spot and a lovely venue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property meets the needs of our group of friends so well
Liked least: Leaving on a beautiful Monday morning
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your review. It is always great to welcome guests who have stayed previously. We are pleased you found the enhancements added to the appeal of Derwent House. It wounds like it was a splendid Sunday lunch. Really glad to welcome you back and to know how much your enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val T
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely House”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Derwent House is nicely decorated, full of character, extremely well equipped and very comfortable, with some lovely touches; several vases of fresh flowers and a cupboard full of books, games and videos. The situation is very attractive, beside a park with views of the surrounding hills. Milk and juice and a box of chocolates in the fridge and pleasant greetings from the owner made for a warm welcome. It's only fault is low doorways! My son is six foot three and kept hitting his head! Ok for those under six feet! Also a downstairs loo would be an advantage, but this is a very minor quibble, especially a most rooms have en-suite facilities. All-in-all this is one of the nicest houses we have stayed in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very comfy beds!
Liked least: The low doorways.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, particularly when returning to the area after so many years. We always want guests to enjoy an excellent standard so your review is very welcome, thank you. Some of the upper floor doorways are low, but this also reflects the historical character of the house, which is a classical Georgian style and built nearly 300 years ago. Once you have one knock though it makes you remember to duck at the upper floor doorways. Regarding a downstairs toilet - this is not possible as the house is listed but the toilet just at the top of the stirs in the bathroom makes it not too far away. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Y
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy family gathering”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Derwent House is a lovely, well appointed, spacious venue for a family gathering. With an age range from 2 to 70 the house provided everything necessary for a happy long weekend with room to lounge, to play, to cook and gather together round the kitchen table or party round the dining room table. The children made good use of the generous supply of games and books when it rained and we made regular visits to the fantastic Hall Leys Park which was literally a 2 minute stroll from the front door when the sun peeped out. The kitchen is a pleasure to use with everything arranged intuitively so that you could always source what was needed quickly and it did really have everything that could be needed. We used an outside caterer for the main celebration meal but when we go back again, which I'm sure we will, I'll happily use the kitchen because it is 'cook friendly'. The bedrooms were good and the beds high quality. There are easy to use stair gates top and bottom of main staircase. The road outside is a cul-de-sac so no traffic noise. The wifi was good. I think I've covered enough ground here to show our family's approval!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious comfort
Liked least: Courtyard
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Many thanks for this. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Lots of people use the house for a special occasion and we do try and make the kitchen 'cook friendly' as you say. Since your visit we have also added new outdoor furniture to the courtyard area. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing