We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous stay in an amazing cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Derwent House

The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Derwent House Grade II listed Georgian property circa 1753 The main guest lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
The elegant oak-panelled dining room. Ideal for a meal together or special celebration.
Derwent House Grade II listed Georgian property circa 1753
The main guest lounge
Superbly equipped large kitchen with additional seating
Master bedroom, with views over Knowleston gardens
Victorial style bathroom, ideal for relaxing after a day walking in the Peak District
Double en-suite room
Twin, en-suite bedroom
Individually designed twin bedroom
The 'old kitchen'  dating from the 17th century. Another lounge room, ideal to sit and chat...
Peak District - a stunning location throughout the year
A view of Bakewell bridge
The River Derwent
Hall Leys Park next to Derwent House
A View of Derbyshire
A country walk followed by lunch at the Eyre Arms?
Ladybower Dam
A welcoming stay awaits
Breakfast in bed?
Ladybower Dam
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah B
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in an amazing cottage”
Reviewed 1 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed here for a big family get-together and we couldn't have chosen a better venue.
A real home from home with everything that we needed for cooking big meals and dining, and so many thoughtful touches throughout from our hosts.
The location is superb and I hope we can stay again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2018
Well that is lovely to read. Thank you. It is important to us that guests enjoy their time at Derwent House and glad the extra touches added to your stay. If you can visit again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiereg...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This is our 2nd stay in this beautiful house and we have already booked our next trip. This is definitely home from home with everything you need for a perfect stay. So comfortable and very clean. You won’t be disappointed. We love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2018
It is always lovely to welcome back guests who have stayed with us before. I'm really pleased you have enjoyed your return visit to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn P
2 reviews
“Excellent holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Derwent House provides excellent holiday accommodation in a quiet location near the centre of Matlock. On a cold, wet February weekend we appreciated the efficient heating, a log burner (wood provided) and a utility with space to dry wet outdoor clothes. Vases of fresh flowers in the reception rooms and teddy bears on the beds were a nice touch. The large kitchen is extremely well equipped with a good range of utensils, basic groceries and cleaning products - all linen is provided and there is an ample supply of books, games, DVD's and CD's in the cosy snug. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very comfortable house; we would definitely return and recommend to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2018
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We know how important it is to come back to a warm house on a winter day. We are pleased you found the facilities to good. Thank you for your recommendation. If you are visiting the area again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicci M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

5 star recommendation for this wonderful house in Matlock. It is perfectly located on a quiet road by a lovely park and is a short walk into town. The rental was spotlessly clean and the addition of fresh flowers and yummy biscuits on arrival was a lovely personal touch. I definitely recommend Derwent House!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed the house so much and enjoyed the personal touches. As you say, we are very lucky with the location. It is also great to know you would definitely recommend a stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Y
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was the family's second visit to Derwent House, this was better than the first time only because of better weather, the house cannot be improved on. It is so well equipped, the kitchen is large with every appliance you could think of and includes everyday items missing from most rentals (tea, coffee, milk, sugar and a range of cooking items such as flour, oil etc). All six bedrooms are spacious as is the family bathroom. The range of DVDs, CDs, games and toys are available for indifferent weather. There were fresh flowers in the main rooms and the "dressing" of the house with pictures, busts etc adds to the interest in the aged property. Our family consists of Mum and Dad, three sons with partners and three grandchildren and we had plenty of room to play and socialise. Great place - we will return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
We are really pleased to know you enjoyed your stay so much on your second visit to Derwent House for your family group. We try hard to ensure the house is well equipped so it is great to know you thought this was the case. If you are visiting Derbyshire again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy H
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
“Fabulous Home and kid friendly”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were visiting family in England and wanted a house that would fit 8 adults and 3 young children. We couldn't have been more pleased with this house. This house is well equipped and spacious. Great kitchen with large refrigerator and lots of cookware, washer and dryer, cupboards full of games, and beautiful bedrooms. Little patio was very pleasant with beautiful flowers. Stairways had kid gates which was great with our 2 one-year olds. Five of the 6 bedrooms had an en suite and all very up to date. The house has beautiful touches throughout. A bonus was the large park just a few feet from the house. The kids were well entertained. We did not use our car the entire time as anything we needed was in walking distance. Love, love, love this place and it is highly recommended. Only thing to be concerned about is if traveling with a handicapped person, there are no bedrooms or toilets on the main floor. Looking forward to a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, particularly as you had travelled form overseas. We feel the 'beautiful touches' is what makes such a difference. We are always very grateful to have recommendations as these really do help people decide on where to stay. If you are able to return it would be a pleasure to welcome to back. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiereg...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

An amazing house to stay in, every room in the house is finished to a high standard. Very comfortable and cosy. Already booked our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Many thanks for your review. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the house and we are looking forward to your return in 2018. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing