We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic garden and homemade cakes!”
Review of Lea Gardens

Lea Gardens
Ranked #11 of 45 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic garden and homemade cakes!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Altho' azaleas and rodos were not at their best - it was still an incredible sight and the fragrance... We are booking our visit earlier next year to see it in all its splendour. We are also allowed free admission for the rest of the year so we will be able to try all the cakes!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    35
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Stunning gardens”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Very thickly populated gardens with rhododendrons. Great variety of colours. Lots of winding paths to follow. Kids would love the paths (hide and seek etc). Really very attractive gardens with lots of azaleas and rhododendrons for sale at entrance. Best seen for flowers May/June.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Really enjoyed the visit even though some of the plants were starting to lose their petals, the different colours viewed from a distance are amazing. The entrance fee is little steep especially if you have mobility problems, the lady on the gate very kindly said I could go back in later but the rain had started. The small tea room was very good though a bit cramped but excellent value for money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherrycoke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful gardens and tea room”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We arrived early and had breakfast in the tea room. The huge pile of different home made cakes was amazing and became the subject of many photos. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We thought the admission fee of £4.50 each was quite reasonable as we then spent two hours wandering in and amongst the hundreds of huge rhododendrons and azaleas, taking our time and sitting on several of the strategically placed benches to take in the views trying to capture the colours on our camera. Most of the time we thought we were on our own in the garden as we could not see or hear anyone else as the paths zig zag their way down the slope and then back up again. Some of the plants had finished flowering, others were still to come out, so you could easily visit early in the season and again a few weeks later. When we got back to the tea rooms not many people had resisted the temptation to enjoy a piece of cake with a cup of tea and we did the same - sitting at the bespoke long wooden table where several people can sit overlooking the gardens. The plant sales area is well organised so you can easily find the plant by your favourite colour to bring home.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JaWte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pure magic”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

fabulous find, steep hillside with switchback paths between blazing colours rhodies and azaleas, woods and valleys. small rockeries and lots and lots of seats to take in the views. best if you take your time and take a close look at the amazing flowers

tea and scones at the cafe, overlooking the garden, home made and special. felt like we were in cornwall

great nursery with knowledgable owners and very helpful, on soil types and shade etc

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank altravelsEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lea Gardens also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Lea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing