We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper pub and hearty food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rising Sun Inn Restaurant

The Rising Sun Inn Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 121 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Proper pub and hearty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My partner our dog and I happened upon the rising sun on route home from a camping trip up in the peaks and we enjoyed the warm welcome good ale and a great meal 'steak and ale pie' very nice. Our dog was even given treats by the owner.
We liked the place on many levels and will return on our next trip into the dales we both said it was a proper pub with a good mix of locals and travellers.
Thank you

Helpful?
1 Thank kcandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    44
    20
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,547 reviews
885 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 851 helpful votes
“Waiting for the Sun to rise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Serving homemade food from local suppliers and an extensive menu choice with a range of real ales what can go wrong! I have an issue with pubs/restaurants that have such a varied and large menu choice as to how they mange to cook fresh their meals. I ordered a starter and main and to my mind they were not cooked from fresh. It would be better to have say 5 starters/mains/desserts and then change the menu say monthly. It is better to have 5 well cooked meals than 20 poorly cooked meals. There is plenty of outside seating with plenty of parking at the front of this pub/restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnhp702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenrisingsun, Owner at The Rising Sun Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi

Thank you for your comments, I would just like to clarify some points you have made, which meals is it that you had ?
All our meat is fresh from Owen Taylor's Butchers , our veg does come from a local supplier , our fish is mostly frozen but any meal is cooked fresh that day.
Did you mention to any of the staff that you were unsatisfied with your meal and if so did they try and resolve your problem?
I understand your point about having a smaller menu but we do get a lot of repeat custom so that a smaller menu would not be in our best interests, I would point out that our menu has actually been reduced in size from last year to enable us to have a larger specials board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice location - terrible food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We went here yesterday after we were told that the management had changed - we wanted to see if things had improved. It hasn't. The food was poor. Admittedly it was only £20 for 3 meals, 2 curries and scampy but the beef curry was rank, we ended up giving the beef to the dog as it was so tough and both were only luke walm as they were put on cold plates. The curries were worse than a £1 curry from Morrisons. The chips with the scampy tasted of paint but it may have been that the chip oil was so old it just tasted horrid. The "chef" or should I say the person that " gets the bag from the freezer and microwaves it" needs to step things up a lot. They were not busy and a 10 yr old could have done better. I wont be going back unless I see ever review saying nice food. There are too many saying it is poor. Wake up Rising Sun management. Hear the feedback and respond please.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodders1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food. Could be good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We visited in a Sunday as a party of 6. The food was very bland and tasteless across a variety of meals, from Sunday lunch to pan fried duck. Each meal was only warm and served on cold plates.

Overall, not very impressive but the lady who was waiting on was very pleasant and accommodating. Could be a lot better.

Helpful?
2 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassocks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Staying in the area for a week this was the first pub we chose for a meal and a pint and we were glad we did.
After trying a few others during our week we will remember the Rising Sun for a good selection of ales, good honest food, and for a reasonable bill. Empty plates and empty glasses - the kids had adult portions and they ate the lot !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plantsman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rising Sun Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Rising Sun Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing