We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ice cream and surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matlock Meadows

Matlock Meadows
Ranked #12 of 42 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Matlock Meadows is a modern purpose built ice cream parlour and coffee shop set within a working dairy farm. The farm has diversified by making italian style hand made ice cream here on the farm using the fresh milk from our dairy herd. The coffee shop serves 15 flavours of ice cream, also sorbet's, ice cream sundaes, a range of hot and cold drinks and snacks, giftware and local produce. We have a small outdoor play area and in the adjacent field and barn we have a micro pig, sheep, chickens, cows and calves. We are a real working dairy farm rather than a major visitor attraction. We do not charge any entrance fees and therefore rely on the income generated from the shop sales to maintain our facilities which include outside play area, free car parking, toilets, and baby changing. The farm has disabled access and facilites and can accommodate educational group/school visits also childrens birthday parties.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream and surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely place, the shop is modern and very well appointed. The rotating ice cream display is fun! More importantly the ice cream is excellent!
Out side is a small play area with a slide, their are also several toy tractors for various aged children. Adjacent are some animal enclosures, at the time containing young lambs and sheep. Fully grown and baby rabbits were also around in various hutches. The play area and animals are all free to access, which is very generous.
All in all it's a very pleasant place to visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Manager at Matlock Meadows, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments we are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    34
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Superb Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We went specifically to have some of the ice cream created at the farm. Spoilt for choice with the range of flavours. Had three and they were all great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your comments we are really pleased you enjoyed our ice creams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great ice cream in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We popped here on our way into the Peak District. What a lovely place to stop and stroll around with an ice cream. Part of the barn has been converted into a cafe/ice cream parlour which also sells a few books and locally produced gifts. There were lots of ice cream flavours available, some "normal" and some quite inventive ones! Plus there were chickens, cows, sheep, goats and rabbits...who could ask for more?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and your comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely ice cream.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Been here a few times. Ice cream best in the area. Please bring back Turkish delight flavour mine and Hubby's favourite. Ice cream prices good, staff let u sample flavours. Worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review - we are pleased you enjoy our ice cream, we have been doing lots of experimenting lately with new flavours - amaretto, lime cheesecake and blackcurrant and liquorice but we promise to bring back turkish delight very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fab day.ice cream to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Been here 2day for the craft fair and what a fabulous day.great place to visit with the kids and the ice cream is to die for! Will deffinatley come again xx

Helpful?
Thank small123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Manager at Matlock Meadows, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your comments we do appreciate any feedback, the open farm sunday was a big day for us to organise so we are really pleased you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matlock Meadows also viewed

 
 

Been to Matlock Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing