We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, great prices.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Way Cafe

The Green Way Cafe
Ranked #6 of 121 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: The Green Way Cafe is a lovely, family run, vegetarian cafe based in the centre of Matlock, Derbyshire.We create imaginative and delicious, homemade and freshly prepared food. With some vegan options. We serve leaf teas, freshly ground coffee, hot chocolates, cold drinks, delicious homemade soups with our amazing homemade bread rolls, deli selections - homemade pates and cheeses, a delicious choice of homemade savoury dishes in 2 portion sizes, and yummy homemade cakes. We aim to provide a warm, relaxing and friendly atmosphere which is child friendly with our Family Room and also our relaxing Main dining room.Our opening times are Weds-Sat 10am-4pm with late night opening on Friday night til 10pm. We serve food 11.30am - 3pm, and 5-8.30pm pn Fri evenings. We don't take any bookings. Our menu changes every week influenced by fresh, seasonal, local produce. We use organic and fair-trade products wherever possible.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Visited your cafe today with my husband and little boy. This was our first visit but definately won't be out last. The staff were friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was relaxed and lovely and the food was top-notch.
Can't wait to visit again to taste more of your excellent food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krust82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose D, Public Relations Manager at The Green Way Cafe, responded to this review, 7 October 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cafe and all your lovely kind words. I am pleased that you love our cafe as much as we do :) ! Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    23
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a look on trip advisor for somewhere different to eat and this little gem came up, after reading reviews myself and my wife and son came specifically to try the food on offer after seeing the pictures of the food. WE WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED! staff were very friendly, we had home lemonade to drink = yummy, i had stuffed pepper with pinenut risotto and goats cheese, my wife had deli lunch with pate selecton wth fresh home made rolls the salads that came with them were amazing i never tasted anything like it, my son had the pizza which he enjoyed. for pudding i had orange and poppy seed cake and my wife had chocolate and orange cupcake they were to die for! we will be back, what a little gem this cafe is AMAZEBALLS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stupot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose D, Public Relations Manager at The Green Way Cafe, responded to this review, 7 October 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cafe and all your lovely kind words. I am pleased that you love our cafe as much as we do and that you loved our tasty imaginative veggie food that we create :) ! Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty & Imaginative Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Visited for the first time last week and was pleasantly surprised. Tucked away just off the main road that runs through Matlock is this little gem of a vegetarian cafe. The menu is small, but this is not your normal boring veggie food. A small selection of imaginative dishes is offered, together with the most amazing salads. Not only do they look good, but they taste fantastic. Will definitely be going again, and soon! Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose D, Public Relations Manager at The Green Way Cafe, responded to this review, 7 October 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cafe, I am pleased that you love our cafe and the exciting imaginative veggie food we create as much as we do :) ! Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Extremely tasty veggie food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Visited here after reading the good reviews and we were not disappointed! We visited as a family of 4(children 8&5) as we are trying to broaden our children's tastes, and they loved the food and especially the home made cakes, all of the food is made fresh on the premises and you can really tell, the salad with the toasted seeds was a taste sensation! They have a small selection on the blackboards to choose from and we tried the roast veggie lattice and spinach and Wensleydale patties which were delicious. There is a great children's dining room as well as the front room mainly for the adults and an outside court yard so something for everyone, the staff were really friendly and attentive and we will definitely visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Seta2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose D, Public Relations Manager at The Green Way Cafe, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cafe, I am really pleased that you loved the cafe as much as we do and that the kids also loved the family room! Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Our third visit - excellent again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Always an interesting range of fresh and well-presented veggie food on offer. The Green Way must produce the best salads in the world - imaginative, never twice the same, but always delicious. Note to self: we really must visit more often - a real treat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ambridge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose D, Public Relations Manager at The Green Way Cafe, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cafe, I am really pleased that you love it as much as we do. We counted up the ingredients in one of our salads the other day just for fun and it was 36!! Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Way Cafe also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Green Way Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing