We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KELLY M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our trip here, the owner was really accommodating and was quick to reply to any queries we had. The location was great with some fab walks from the doorstep. I would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire
Liked least: nothing really
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thanks Kelly
Much appreciated

Paul & Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherburnL...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed for two nights over the weekend. The cottage is lovely and was ideal for us as four adults both having a bathroom each. Although there is only parking for 1 car there is a small car park at the bottom on the main road which the second car can park free of charge and this was no problem. The cottage was spotless with all the amenities you need. There are a lot of steps up to the property so no good if you have mobility problems. It's in an ideal location having the choice of Matlock and Matlock Bath both within walking distance. Would definitely recommend the Indian restaurant in Matlock Bath! Have no hesitation in recommending this cottage. Thank you Paul & Karen for a great weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No large cups/mugs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfrid200...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Had a short weekend break here and I have to say its amazing. The cottage is finished to highest standard, the whole place was immaculate and the view is fantastic. Planning our next visit already. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Thank you so much we are really encouraged by your comments
We wanted to create a place to stay where we would love to go.
Thanks to my talented Karen and her friend Karen and their vision
Kindest regards
Paul and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LazyDaisy...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful cottage, fantastic view!”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Lovely little cottage. Decorated to a high standard with lots of lovely details. comfy beds, cozy fire and the attic bathroom is the perfect place to relax.
The location is also great to get around matlock and well connected for the train.
There is a bit of a steep climb up the cottage steps which would make it unsuitable for some people but this is clearly stated when booking.
Fantastic!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica N
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great homely little place!”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed as two couples in this lovely little home. Although compact, we found it had everything we could possibly need for a great weekend visiting the Peak District. Great location, and we lovely all the homely touches!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikki K
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical place to stay!”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage is in a stunning setting overlooking the Tor Hills. It was lovely to sit out on the terrace in the morning watching the sun rise or having a relaxing dinner. Our daughters aged 9 and 11 loved watching people climbing up Tor Hill. The cottage itself is well equipped, cosy and beautifully presented. It is only a 10min walk into Matlock Bath, so excellent for walks, going on a train, Gullivers Kingdom and Abrahams Heights. We enjoyed having an evening stroll to one of the many lovely bars. Would highly recommend this cottage, we didn't want to leave!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahcpre...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
“A pretty and cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A gorgeous cottage with a homely feel and stunning view. Very tastefully decorated and well equipped. Smelt clean and flowery too. The beds were extremely comfortable with luxurious bedding. My mum & I loved staying at Imladris. The steps up to the property are steep but fun. The stairs in the house are probably steeper & the the sloped bathroom ceilings were challenging for me as I am tall! The parking is tight, especially because we had two cars having come from different directions. All made for a fun holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: sloped celilings & steep internal
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing