We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRILLIANT GUEST HOUSE, LOOK NO FURTHER, NOT TO BE MISSED!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“BRILLIANT GUEST HOUSE, LOOK NO FURTHER, NOT TO BE MISSED!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

First time in Matlock and luckily for us, picked a wonderful place to stay. Warm, friendly and attentive, Jenny and Graham were always there to help. Great central location, but peaceful and quiet as set next to river bank. Room was cosy, clean and very comfortable.
Excellent choice for breakfast with food being of superb quality and presented immaculately.
Full use of beautiful house and garden offered.
Thank you Jenny and Graham for making our stay so enjoyable, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plipsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    62
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
149
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We decided to visit Matlock for our 1st family holiday and trip to the Peak District and we very pleased with our choice of B&B.
The Riverbank has a superb location which was very close to a lovely park and Matlock town centre.
Our room was very spacious and beautifully decorated with a great bathroom. The breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed the full english and scambled egg with smoked salmon.
Our hosts Jennie and Graham were lovely and nothing was too much trouble and we felt very welcomed.
We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abrand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

My wife and I booked at the Riverbank for two nights as we wanted to look at the local Indigo furniture store, what a great choice it was too as Indigo was literally 150 yards away....This guest house is in a superb location with own car park, great views, lovely room,extremely nice hosts and the breakfasts were superb, nothing is to much for Jenny and Graham.
Shops are just round the corner which you can get to by walking through the beautiful park which is out of the guest house turn right and your there across the footbridge over the river...Basically a real find, central to everything with a great Thai restaurant just round the corner, aptly named Thailand No 1.......Which was fantastic. If your heading to Matlock give the Riverbank a ring and book in....Def value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We arrived minutes after the Tourist Information office closed and just took down the names of a few accommodation that were listed in the window to try our luck. The garden across the street tempted us over for a stroll. As we headed back along the river, we spotted a B&B sign on the opposite river bank so we tried our luck. Jenni kindly offered us a small 'discount' as it was more than what we intended to pay. We had a lovely room upstairs with steps to the back garden n river. Place is well maintained. Traditional English breakfasts served by Graham, a most friendly and obliging host. Wish we had more time to enjoy the surrounding area and have a picnic on the grounds.

Eby & Mary Klix, Singapore

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_E_Klix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We only stayed for one night, but the room was lovely, very comfortable and with a lovely view onto the river. We were greeted by very friendly staff, and breakfast was great- highly recommended.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhos-on-sea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Having just spent three days at Riverbank Guest house, we cannott say enough about the quality of this place, Hosts. accommadation, service, food (breakfast) was five star all the way through. This was our 3rd visit to Riverside and we have booked to go again in June 2011 and will possibly book for New year period 2011/2012. If you are wondering where to stay in the Matlock area THEN THIS GUEST HOUSE IS A MUST.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhos_on_SeaJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

The location is just great. The room is clearn, neat and cozy. B&B owners were so hospitable and very attentive to our needs. Breakfast was prepared just the way we liked it. We love the personal touch. Truly a very memorable stay for us. We will be back to this hidden gem!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zippyracl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Property: Riverbank Guest House
Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE43LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing