We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 53 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

When me and my boyfriend first got there we were early but decided to go anyway see if we might be able to leave our bags there until check in. Before we even had chance to speak a lady there was very abrupt and rude saying in a curt tone 'well the rooms not ready yet you will have to come back later' we explained we werent here to check in and wondered if we could leave our bags here so we could go out for a bit and didnt have to carry them about. The man was kind and agreed. Me and my boyfriend walked out and both looked at each other with an expression of disbelief at how the woman had talked to us, not a great start..... The hotel was in a good location right near a bar called monk which can get pretty lovely at weekend, nice for a drink. Also near to a nice italien. The room was small but ok and breakfast ok. For the money we paid though, wasnt worth it would not stay again

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Escape1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us! We do endeavour to please our guests but it seems it was not possible this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were staying one night in Matlock and were meeting friends at the Guest House. We were given a cheery welcome and allowed to check in early which was great. The room was large and clean. The breakfast was tasty with good service.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the hotel may be quieter in the summer as there is a bar just up the road which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad your stay was a happy experience.Hope we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was a bit of a last minute booking due to unforeseen circumstances but it turned out to be a stroke of genius!
The team running the guest house and owners gave us such a warm welcome and were really helpful and friendly.
Rooms were stylish, clean, comfortable and contained everything we needed.
Breakfast was also good with plenty of choice.
Riverbank is in a good location with plenty of nice bars and restaurants nearby.
Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very pleased we could help out at such short notice. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

All we wanted from our short visit to the Peak District was a pleasant and relaxing break, this is exactly what we wanted and got. The owners of Riverbank were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you. The room was warm, comfortable clean and perfect with a wonderful view over the river.

Thank you Jennie, Graham and Shelley

Thanks Again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

The Peak District is wonderful at this time of the year. Come again in the summer and really see it at it's most beautiful. You can sit by the river, or fish, or just while the day away and relax. We have a fantastic location and love it to be used by our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Beautiful setting. Very comfortable. Warm welcome. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Riverbank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We came here for a quiet weekend away and it met all our needs.
The location is quiet, yet very convenient for Matlock town. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. There was a good range of options for breakfast and the food was tasty and well presented The staff are very attentive. If you need anything, just ask.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ssleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your kind comments! It was lovely to meet you and we are so glad you had a super
weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Very friendly, helpful owners / staff.
Yummy kippers and poached eggs for breakfast.
Very comfortable room.
Pleasant evening by the fire in lounge.

Room Tip: We had a larger room but then didn't get view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicago_saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for reviewing us. Eight of our rooms have views of the river. If you come again, try the salmon instead of the kippers ; yummy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
17.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#2 of 53 in Matlock
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE43LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £91 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing