We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We visited the Peak district to celebrate a 60th birthday so wanted to stay somewhere with character, excellent service and friendly. Riverbank guesthouse came up trumps in all three departments. In a good location with easy walking distance to shops and restuarants in Matlock and friendly staff it was what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for choosing our guest house to celebrate your special occasion and we are delighted that we came up trumps and you had a lovely stay. Many thanks for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

I and two friends stayed in rooms 1,2 and 4 for two nights and were all delighted with this Guest House. Rooms 1 and 4 had wonderful views towards the river across the lovely gardens and room 2 had restricted views but had access directly into the gardens - great on a warm evening in summer.
We all commented on how safe and secure the place feels, with a large private parking area away from the main streets of Matlock but only seconds away on foot. Nearby there were excellent restaurants, we can recommend the Indian (a very short walk over the bridge) and the Thai which is almost next door!

The rooms were nice, clean and homely and the breakfasts were wonderful - even the vegetarian breakfast was better than most.

We will certainly be back, I recommend that you stay there for visits to Chatsworth , Matlock, Buxton, Bakewell etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Many thanks for your review, how wonderful that you found Riverbank a fantastic place to stay. We are glad that you liked your rooms and the views and the easy access to our lovely garden. Our convenient location does make for a relaxed and hassle free stay and we hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Facilities are very good hosts and staff very friendly, easy walking distance to park and Matlock Bath. We have stayed many times in the past five years. No complaints EXCELLENT.Would always choose this hotel first because of the friendly welcome and departure we receive.

Room Tip: Rear view over garden, park and river Derwent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

It is always a pleasure to welcome you back each time you stay with us and we are thrilled that you enjoy the homely atmosphere we strive for! Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. See you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have just returned from a four day break at the Riverbank Matlock and have to say this is one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. Jennie, Graham and their small team were superb and nothing was to much trouble, they are a fountain of knowledge about the area and helped us with place's to go and how to get there. The rooms are spotless with fantastic big fluffy towels. Room no 7 has a lovely view over the garden and river. The breakfasts were great with plenty of choice and endless pots of coffee and tea. We would recommend this B&B to anybody looking to stay in the Matlock area and we fully intend to return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property have views of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordshireYellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for choosing Riverbank for your four day getaway. We enjoyed meeting you and are delighted that we contributed to making your stay a memorable experience. Matlock is a lovely location with easy access to all the local attractions. Thank you for posting a review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Have just stayed at the Riverside in Matlock for the second time with other family members and it is a really pleasant place to stay. The rooms are very nice, although the rooms at the front can be a little more noisy than the ones at the back. The breakfast choice is great and the guest house caters very well for vegetarians and coeliacs. The owners Jennie and Graham are lovely as are the other staff and nothing is too much trouble for them in terms of making sure guests are looked after. Free Internet access is available in the rooms as well. Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for staying at Riverbank again, it was lovely to see you again and we are so happy you find it a great place to stay! The complimentary parking and WIFI are an added bonus for our guests and the central location makes for easy access to shops and restaurants. Our breakfast options do cater for all tastes and various dietary requirements and we are glad you enjoyed your breakfasts. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

WoW - what a find. Rooms are clean, plenty of hot water, internet access and so very helpful. can highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Many thanks for your kind words, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyed .We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just returned from a wonderful relaxing two day spent in Matlock staying at the Riverbank B&B. Very clean warm and welcoming, central to all your needs yet situated in a quiet culdisac in town centre. Spent a lovely couple of hours in their garden right by the river with a bottle of wine, what more can we say.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back overlooking garden and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_nicholls30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

We are so happy that you enjoyed our garden and river frontage.Being centrally situated is a bonus! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 2 in Matlock Bath
400 reviews
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Matlock Bath
334 reviews
18 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 54 in Matlock
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE4 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £84 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing