We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, comfortable and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

What a great location (after some difficulty finding it) to the rail station. We had some very friendly hosts, beautiful room with a view of their amazing back yard (and river!). I can't say anything bad about this place, it was quiet, peaceful and just what I wanted for a 2 nights stay in Matlock.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FidgeFodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Peaceful, comfortable and relaxing, we achieved our aim! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

The guest house is in a great location for walking into town and to the station. Easy to find and plenty of parking. Welcoming from the very beginning. Jenny and Graham and their team are full of information and advice. We stayed for the weekend to go to a wedding and found we couldn't get a taxi to Matlock Bath, all fully booked, Graham took us! That's above and beyond and we appreciated it so much, thank you! The room was very comfortable (if a little dated decor wise) but that is absolutely my only very small niggle and completely personal preference! Lots of choice at breakfast and very yummy. The garden and surrounding area is lovely. A great stay. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

It was a pleasure to be able to make your stay a memorable experience. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My car borke down en route, I was late for a wedding, stressed and the B&B hosts came to the rescue! They recommended a good repair garage, waited for my arrival, let me in, booked me a taxi and I made it to the church moments before the bride arrived. They were utterly brilliant! The B&B is lovely, it's in the middle of town, but quiet and overlooks a pretty river. The rail stattion is five minutes walk away. The breakfast is good. The bedroom was lovely and had a sparkly clean, modern en suite shower. And the hosts . . . absolutely top marks!

Room Tip: If you ask nicely you may get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyannaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

We were so glad to be able to help you sort out your car and get you to the church on time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Ideal location. We felt at home as soon as we walked through the door. Bedrooms extremely comfortable and clean.. Breakfast delicious. Graham and Jenny made us feel very welcome.
We wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pillingfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

We are so happy that you will be back and your stay was happy and enyoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We had a very comfortable king size bed in room 10 overlooking the pretty garden which backed onto the river. Room was clean and well equipped, hosts were very friendly & accommodating and there was plenty of choice on offfer for breakfast. Great location in quiet cul-de-sac close to Matlock town centre where we enjoyed dining at the Indian and Italian restaurants. Would thoroughly recommend for a short break.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank AlisonR908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Our recently re-decorated room 10 has a king sized bed , a single bed and a fold down futon which makes it an ideal family room too! Our ample complimentary parking and close location to restaurants and shops , makes for a relaxing time.Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

What a wonderful place to stay,central to Matlock town centre,but secluded and quiet.
The rooms are beautifully decorated with comfortable beds and thick fluffy towels.Our hosts were very welcoming despite a mix-up with the Internet booking site.
The breakfast was delicous and everything you could wish for,we look forward to a return visit and will recommend this excellent B&B to our friends

Room Tip: Room 9 with 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

We look forward to your return visit and are so happy you enjoyed your stay in our guest house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was our second visit to Riverbank Guest House having stayed for two nights at the same time last year. The location is perfect. We travelled by bus and Riverbank is just a very short walk away either along the main road or as we did, a lovely walk through the park. Last year we were really impressed with the Thai restaurant which is a minute away so booked before the weekend as it gets busy. Jennie and Graham are so welcoming and helpful and the house has a lovely feel. Breakfast is great with lots of choice. The garden was as beautiful as ever and a lovely place to sit or to stroll around. What better recommendation could there be than to return and I am sure that we will stay at Riverbank again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

It was wonderful to welcome you back for your second visit and we are thrilled you enjoyed our garden and hospitality. Hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 54 in Matlock
444 reviews
14.2 mi away
Long Chimneys Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 8 in Matlock Bath
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE4 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £94 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing