We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverbank Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
257
73
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
257
73
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscul de sacthai restaurantbeautiful gardenrestaurants and pubskipperstown centreexcellent locationpeak districtfeel very welcomebreakfast was deliciousshort walka great staya lovely place to staylovely roomlocal knowledgestayed here for one nightfriendly welcome
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just came back from a friend's wedding at Riverbank where we were overwhelmed by how kind the hosts were to the whole wedding party making us feel like nothing was too much trouble from spare petticoats to the whole party taking over the garden and bouncing around on the trampoline.....

The garden is right on the river and really beautiful and the rooms are all individual and nicely designed with great bathrooms. Delicious breakfast too.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Very good quality guest house in quiet street near Matlock town centre and attractive garden backing onto river. Our room was spacious with a four poster bed and large modern en suite. Good range of food on offer for breakfast, nicely presented. Owners very friendly and willing to offer tourist advice - and were very understanding when I temporarily mislaid my room keys! Although there were a few good restaurants within walking distance, most were either fully booked on Friday/Saturday and/or closed on Sunday, so careful planning/booking needed.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the front of the hotel. Owners were so concerned enough about potential noise from across the river that they provided ear plugs - we didn't need them!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for posting a review. Our room with the four poster bed certainly is very popular . Our central location is so convenient to enjoy the selection of restaurants and attractions nearby. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Thank you Riverbank for a lovely weekend stay at your friendly B&B. Felt so welcome on arrival and loved our room overlooking the beautiful garden. A walk in the garden is a must with lots of lovely plants and shrubs to admire and if you're lucky you might bump into a friendly duck! Our room was nicely furnished with very comfy bed and a spacious ensuite. Like previous reviews, the towels ARE so soft, amazing!! Nice touch to have complimentary bottle of water and scrummy choc biscuits. Breakfast is ordered the night before and arrived on time, well cooked and with great service! Location is perfect just on the river and adjacent to a lovely park. There are some good restaurants and pubs nearby for evening meals. Would not hesitate to recommend this B&B and hope to visit again soon

Room Tip: We had room 7 overlooking garden. It was quiet and peaceful
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jehinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. Wonderful that you appreciated our garden and our lovely Matlock Park. It is so rewarding when our effort is noticed and enjoyed. Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Friendly nice and clean with great staff and lovely breakfast. Nice location for the area. We went to Bakewell, Hardwick Hall,Haddon Hall and The Heights of Abraham all within easy reach.Would certainly return and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Park59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you managed to see so many of the wonderful attrcations near to the guest house. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Rooms clean and very homely. Owners could not do enough for you - breakfast was wonderful, location was wonderful -would stay here again without a doubt. Ideally situated for visiting Chatsworth. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolphinlover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Chatsworth House is one of the many attractions easily accessible from our guest house and we are so happy you had a wonderful stay with us. Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews