We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 50 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Traditional B&B. Had a great time here booked this for myself and a few guests. Rooms were nice, good location and the breakfast was a good start for the morning. Back garden was peaceful and to top it off we had good weather so no complaints. Would say again if in Matlock. Easy walk from train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil.ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for your review Neil. We are so happy that you and your party enjoyed time in our garden . We do have a central location and bordering the Matlock Park makes for a pleasant outlook. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    62
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
149
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just had 4 nights at Riverbank Guest House in Matlock. Jennie & Graham were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Staff also friendly. Lovely breakfast. Location within walking distance to town and perfectly situated for exploring the peak district. Room very clean and comfortable. Would stay again and already recommended to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your review Brian. We are so happy your stay was enjoyable. Our central location is a bonus for our guests and we are so close to the many attractions in this beautiful Peak district.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Great breakfast, lovely family and staff. Our room was a bit drafty due to fire exit not closing properly. Other than that, couldn't really fault it. A stones throw from good pubs, bars and restaurants

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 90nil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you appreciated our central location. We do appologise for the draft in your room, what a pity we were unaware of this problem during your stay, we would have gladly rectified this and trust it did not spoil your stay in our guest house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed with our 18 month old son for 4 nights, and definitely do not regret our choice.

Location: Excellent. Within walking distance to town and it's restaurants. We had hired a car and this was an great base for visiting Chatsworth, Hardwick Hall & Haddon Hall. There is also a large Sainsbury close by, should you need to stock up on anything.

Accommodation: We had 1 double bed and 1 single bed in our room for the 3 of us. Ensuite with a modern shower with excellent water pressure. The room and house itself was very clean and well kept.

The owners and other staff were really nice and accommodating. There was a high chair for our son at breakfast, and I believe a cot is also available (though we just used a normal bed propped with pillows). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loreen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
It was lovely to meet you and your family Loreen. Many thanks for posting a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

On the outskirts of the White Peak District, tucked away in a little oasis of its own sits the Riverbank Guest House... and what a delightful place it is! The location is perfect for exploring the heart of the Midlands with places like Chatsworth and Bakewell practically on the doorstep! The proprietors were extremely friendly and full of knowledge about the local area. Their restaurant recommendations were superb...'Viva' the local Italian restaurant was fantastic! Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The room was very comfortable, housing all you required for an overnight stay and the breakfast was delicious (really fresh local produce)..provided at a time that suited me! I stayed for three nights and would definitely stay there again if visting the Peak District once more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review Victoria. Thank you for choosing our guest house for your country getaway. We are well situated for exploration of this beautiful area which has so much to offer .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for a 2 night break and found it to be perfectly adequate.
The Owners and staff are exceptional.
The Location and garden as other reviewers have said is great.
The Room was comfy enough if just a little on the small side.
The Breakfast was well cooked and had plenty of options including local Derbyshire pancakes which was new to me.
Overall a little bit pricey but I don't own a huge house in a prime area of Matlock to pay the upkeep on!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for the review and kind comments Wayne. We hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had never been to Derbyshire and Riverbank looked ideal and it certainly was. Only a bus ride from Chatsworth too. A peaceful backwater, but just off the A6 and near restaurants and the railway. Good breakfasts too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your review Pat. We hope you will visit again soon, we are so conveniently situated to the many attractions in Derbyshire and there is so much to do and see in this beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Property: Riverbank Guest House
Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE43LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Booking.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing