We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 53 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I stayed one night with our grown-up son and had an excellent stay. Very clean and pleasant rooms, friendly people, delicious breakfast. Good location in quiet spot but near centre of town so could walk to restaurant in the evening. Parking easy. Place was full even in November and many guests seemed to have been before. If you insist on minimalist decor then this probably isn't the place for you but otherwise it's a great place to stay in Matlock.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review Sarah. We are well positioned in Matlock central and the free parking is a bonus for our guests. We so enjoy welcoming back guests who have visited us before and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you and your family visit Derbyshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Riverbank Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Very pleasant room, great central location, welcoming, friendly and helpful people, really good breakfast with loads of choice- even for veggies! Must stay longer next time so I can have them all. Thoroughly recommended. J&J.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonath0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your review Jonathon. We are so happy that you enjoyed our breakfasts. Our menu does provide for veggies and we are also happy to provide for vegens and gluten free diets upon request.We enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

A A very good place to stay very warm and very friendly it's a blast from the past it's like you are part of the peak district it's so close to everything breakfast here are to die for it's so close to everything free parking is a bonus come and visit this lovely friend of the place

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Mannys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Many thanks for your review. Our free parking and central location are always much appreciated by our guests. We are so happy your weeks break was enjoyed and we hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked last minute for a bank holiday break and were not disappointed, a lovely room overlooking the garden and very comfy bed meant we quickly re-charged those batteries. A lovely hearty breakfast, chosen the night before with a tick box form, set us up for a day's walking. Good pubs nearby and a fabulous Thai restaurant around the right corner and a great curry house to the left meant we didn't starve at night either. Would defintely recommend here for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birminghamguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad your stay was relaxing. Our location certainly is great for walkers and it's good to hear our breakfasts and rooms were enjoyed and appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Traditional B&B. Had a great time here booked this for myself and a few guests. Rooms were nice, good location and the breakfast was a good start for the morning. Back garden was peaceful and to top it off we had good weather so no complaints. Would say again if in Matlock. Easy walk from train station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil.ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for your review Neil. We are so happy that you and your party enjoyed time in our garden . We do have a central location and bordering the Matlock Park makes for a pleasant outlook. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just had 4 nights at Riverbank Guest House in Matlock. Jennie & Graham were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Staff also friendly. Lovely breakfast. Location within walking distance to town and perfectly situated for exploring the peak district. Room very clean and comfortable. Would stay again and already recommended to a friend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your review Brian. We are so happy your stay was enjoyable. Our central location is a bonus for our guests and we are so close to the many attractions in this beautiful Peak district.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Great breakfast, lovely family and staff. Our room was a bit drafty due to fire exit not closing properly. Other than that, couldn't really fault it. A stones throw from good pubs, bars and restaurants

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 90nil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you appreciated our central location. We do appologise for the draft in your room, what a pity we were unaware of this problem during your stay, we would have gladly rectified this and trust it did not spoil your stay in our guest house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
307 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
378 reviews
17.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE43LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £82 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing