We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverbank Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #5 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here in Nov 2013 (so sorry for the late review!) - It was my husbands 40th and after speaking to the manager when booking he arranged for my hubby to be able to fish the River Derwent at the bottom of his garden (brown trout/grayling) the next morning - Thankyou - he loved it!! We were very impressed with the guest house and really cannot think of any negatives - from the moment we arrived until we finally left ........ with the AA (our car broke down outside the front door) everything was spot on!!

Room Tip: Photo's of rooms are on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review Mrs Morton. It's always a privilege to have been part of a special celebration and we are so glad your husband's birthday was so enjoyed. It is a bonus being on the banks of the River Derwent and are delighted that you made the most of the fishing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    60
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
146
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Arrived Friday afternoon and stayed through till Sunday. Very friendly owners and staff. Looked after my pregnant wife making sure the eggs were well cooked and everything was spot on. Lovely location and nice places to walk nearby. Excellent Italian restaurant about 3 mins walk away called Viva Italian. Highly recommended. Thanks for having us and sure we'll see you again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s_evans76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review. It was lovely meeting you both and we wish you well . We thoroughly enjoy meeting our guests and making their stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went from Good Friday to Monday. Cannot fault this guest house at all. Everything about it was lovely and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. I will go back again in the future. The guest house was situated very close to the train and bus station, close to a lively park with a marvellous tea room (afternoon tea for two highly recommended).

Room Tip: Very close to station and a beautiful park out the back. No noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookie540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. We do look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is just a lovely place to come to , The breakfast was great kept us going all day . Our room overlooked the lovely garden with the river and the park . We could walk to the restaurants and bars they were only a few minutes away, Stones was wonderful had a gorgeous lunch and the Thai restaurant in the evening and then back to a roaring fire where we sat and soaked up the atmosphere. We managed to fit in 3 great walks . Thank you so much for a really enjoyable weekend .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are fortunate to be within walking distance of good restaurants and bars. We enjoyed meeting you and your friends and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Excellent B&B, A house with character, nice and comfortable. Great location for the town of Matlock. Good Breakfast with nice choices. Also has a pretty garden over looking the river.
The owner was lovely!
We ate at the RIva Italian Restaurant and had a very pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: Room 1 was nice overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for posting a review! We appreciate your comments very much. The Italian is just one of a few lovely restaurants within walking distance of the guest house. We look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

A Gorgeous stay, with beautiful gardens and lovely hosts. Breakfast was really nice and the location is perfect, with easy walking access to all the local shops and pubs. The rooms are pretty and comfortable. The hosts are welcoming and more than happy to help -Thank you!

Rich and nita

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review Rich and Nita! It was lovely to meet you both and we are so happy your stay was so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our 3rd stay at Riverbank, and we will return again! The rooms are spotless and very comfortable, and the breakfasts delicious. The owners, Jennie and Graham, and Manager, Shelley, make you feel so welcome and at home. Nothing is too much trouble - full marks !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muddib00ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gray1346, Manager at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We have much pleasure in welcoming you back to our guest house and look forward to your fourth stay with Riverbank! Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Property: Riverbank Guest House
Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE43LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing