We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“biker friendly smashin hosts superb location !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverbank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“biker friendly smashin hosts superb location !!!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Smashing location next to the river and a lovely park, great hosts very helpfull with local info. superb breakfast lots of choices,we are bikers and were welcomed by graham and jennie with open arms, secure parking outside in a private driveway, Very handy for matlock bath a mecca for bikers on a sunny sunday in the summer, handily placed for some of the best roads in the country watch out for all the speed cameras though !!! will try to get back next year definately.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick196408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    62
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
149
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed for a weekend with friends. Great location with a beautiful garden which backs onto the river. Jenny & Graham were very helpful and welcoming to the 4 of us on motorcycles. Rooms were beautifully decorated and light and airy. Breakfast was first class and advice and local knowledge was very helpful. A great find.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank susieseaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

spent 12/13 July 2010 here.
delightful building/gardens,wonderful staff,excellent breakfasts.
room and bathroom spotless
Jenny couldnt have been more helpful or friendly
highly recomend we will be going back soon

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

This is a gorgeous double victorian guest house with lovely gardens at the rear leading to the river. Jenny is a very endearing lady and nothing is too much trouble. It is perfectly situated for days out to the peaks, Bakewell and Matlock Bath. Our bedroom had a superb, spacious en suite , no bashing your knees on the toilet as you get out of the shower!! I agree with another reviewer that the smell of breakfast creeping up the stairs is a perfect wake up call. It is a really sumptious affair too. Book a stay here , you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteboeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

My husband and I stayed 4 nights;booked as a birthday surprise. Jennie and Graham were very attentive hosts; nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with a more than adequate en-suite.Breakfasts were substantial and included a large variety of choices - just right to set you up for the day. Riverbank House is ideally situated for exploring the local countryside, and the staff were both knowledgable and helpful with information on places to visit in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to this area, and would like to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycouple72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinchilla, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Spent in total eight nights. Well looked after by Graham and Jenny. Hope to get back there some day

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcameron55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

In the midst of much of England being in the process of modernization and losing much of it's unique identitiy in restaurants, pubs, and historical train stations, the Riverbank House maintains the feeling of stepping back in time to a very homey yet stylish English countryside inn. All mod cons available amidst Laura Ashley-like textiles and wall coverings, antique furniture and decor, and the scent of a full English breakfast cooking every morning rumenating up to your room tempting you to wake up and go off your diet food to be very naughty. The hosts are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area and travel. The location is incredibly convenient, just off the beaten path by the river enough for quiet and privacy, and yet a very short distance to the train and bus station which connects you to many places of interest. No need to have a car here. You couldn't ask for more; a very nice place in one of the most beautiful parts of England, in one of the safest towns.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmarie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank Guest House

Property: Riverbank Guest House
Address: Derwent Avenue, Matlock DE43LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverbank House is a Victorian house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the banks of the Derwent river, yet close to the centre of the town and all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing