We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, beautifully restored trams, helpful and friendly staff”

Crich Tramway Village
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Derbyshire’s award-winning family attraction lets you enjoy unlimited tram rides in a recreated village street along the mile-long track to breathtaking views. Plus play areas, shops, tea-rooms and 30,000 square feet of indoor attractions. A relaxing day out for all ages! Please note we are closed between 2nd November 2015 and 18th March 2016.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place, beautifully restored trams, helpful and friendly staff”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We visited this place mid week when it was very quiet. The volunteers where all very helpful, imparting all their knowledge at every opportunity and we were all made to feel very welcome.
The countryside around the village is stunning and we found the atmosphere very relaxed as we went from place to place (via the delightful trams of course).
We loved the place and will be going back a few times over the course of the next 12 months (before the ticket runs out), as it is within 40 minutes travel time for us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    455
    87
    39
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Pay once and get in all year! Lots to see here, great value for money and very interesting.
I plan to visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good half day out”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited this attraction while staying in the area. It was very interesting to see so many old Trams read about their history and ride on two of them. There is a Woodland Walk and play area for children. We found all the staff there were friendly and helpful.

There are several eateries there. We went into Rita's Cafe which provided very good food at a reasonable price.

We did have difficulty finding it, the Sat Nav sent us along one track country roads, but we did get there eventually. You could perhaps spend the day there with children, but for me half a day was enough to look all around but it was interesting. This appears to be an on going project, so I hope the Lottery and the volunteers keep supporting it to make it even more interesting..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyEliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graft
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Back in time”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great Easter monday, back in time to the fourties with all the jeeps and WW1 specials. Apart from that, wonderful to see that everything is restored en kept so well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good day out”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We went to the 1940s themed day out on Monday 21 April. There were lots of parking available around the village. The theme was just perfect, everything and everyone looked quite authentic in their costumes. War time songs, people in their 1940s finery. It was just brilliant.

The price of the ticket was quite reasonable as you could pay £35, for a family ticket (2 adults and up to 3 children). You can use the ticket to return throughout the year except on the day when they have another 1940s theme day. Very good value for money and an excellent time had by all. They have various themes running throughout the year and I cant wait to go to the Victorian day!

Definitely worth visiting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crich Tramway Village also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Crich Tramway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing