We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glendon Guest House
Ranked #2 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem of a B&B”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The moment I stepped through the door I knew this would be a wonderful B&B. Glendon house is beautifully restored, beautifully decorated and the service is second to none. The sitting room is also great so you an relax in the evening. Breakfast was the best I have ever had and impeccable service. All in all a fabulous B&B and I look forward to staying there again. Spotlessly clean, close to the town centre yet quiet and relaxed plus hosts really make this place so special.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. In particular your comments about breakfast please us as all food cooked fresh to order and food being served are things that makes us different to 'chain hotels'. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
145
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mills, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May when we visited Matlock for a wedding. This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. We had the family room which is a charming double with a smaller room off it with 'high end' (!) bunkbeds. Best thing about the room was the fact that the bunkroom has a door which so many family room set ups don't have. The breakfasts were great, lots of choice from eggs Benedict to traditional English, with an excellent choice of cereals and fresh berries, yoghurt etc. Best breakfasts we've ever had either at a hotel or B&B. Glendon retains many original Victorian features and to quote a previous review does indeed ooze quality and charm! The separate guest lounge is also a plus. We hope to return soon- if the place isn't booked up!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you say Glendon is a lovely building and it is great to hear our service matched. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Glendon oozes quality and charm. We spent a fabulous 3 nights from Friday 17th May and highly recommend it. It is possibly the best guest house we've ever stayed in and if you're looking for accommodation in Derbyshire then look no further. We had the four poster room and our friends had a standard double. Both were lovely. The proprietors really care about the comfort and enjoyment of their guests and this is reflected in the tasteful décor, cleanliness, comfortable beds, the peaceful guest lounge and oh, the breakfasts! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
We are really pleased to receive your very complimentary feedback. We want all our guests to enjoy their stay so your comments about this are great to read. Our guest lounge is a lovely room, particularly when staying with friends and we are glad you enjoyed this. Glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast too. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at this guest house for our first night of our honeymoon and we could not have felt more welcome. From the flowers and champagne that were organised for our room, to a lovely breakfast of blueberry pancakes (probably one of the best breakfasts I've ever had in a hotel or B&B) our entire stay was perfect. The attention to detail in the room and breakfast room took this guest house from being very good to being amazing. thank you very much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed the first night of your honeymoon with us. We think the extra touches and attenton to detail make all the difference so appreciate your feedback. We are glad that we were able to contribute a little to your celebration and hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon in the Lake District and Scotland. If you are visiting Derbyshire again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Glendon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Lovely lemon drizzle cake on arrival, great room and brilliant shower, welcoming and friendly hosts and amazing breakfasts. Our room faced the main road but we had no problems sleeping at all. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thanks for your feedback - a perfect stay is great to read. Although we are in the centre of Matlock we are lucky to enjoy a quiet location. The lemon drizzle cake is a clear favourite with our guests, as is breakfast. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are visiting the area again I hope to welcome you back to Glendon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

On arrival, we instantly felt welcomed with tea and cake. My two year daughter was catered for with no problems at all (which is rare these days). Our hosts were incredibly friendly and genuine. The breakfast was out of this world, with a good selection of delicious fresh fruit as well as a lovely full English breakfast, served promptly. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the mini fridge was filled with plenty of snacks if you fancied. We only wish we had more nights, but we will be returning in the near future. I highly recommend Glendon to anyone wishing to visit the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
We are really pleased that you felt welcome, including your daughter. We try to ensure that we cater well for children so appreciate your feedback. We hope you are able to return in the future and perhaps stay a little longer to enjoy some more of the Peak District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The guest house was well decorated throughout and very comfortable. Great location in Matlock,convenient for shops,pubs,restaurants and the park. The breakfast was high quality and delicious,served quickly and efficiently. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and there was great attention to detail. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
It is always very pleasing to read that you would highly recommend Glendon. We want all our guests to enjoy their stay so your feedback is very welcoome. The house is a great example of a Victorian villa and this adds to the feel. We hope you are able to return at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#3 of 51 in Matlock
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#1 of 51 in Matlock
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ellen House
Ellen House
#9 of 51 in Matlock
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendon Guest House

Property: Glendon Guest House
Address: Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendon, a fine Victorian house, offers a genuine welcome. An ideal base for leisure and business visitors. Located on the edge of the Peak District we offer individually designed bedrooms with a range of amenities including a silent fridge and Wi-Fi. The sitting room, overlooking Knowleston Gardens, is an ideal place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast is served in the dining room and offers a full choice. Ample parking is available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing