We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Well Run Hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glendon Guest House
Ranked #2 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just spent four great nights at Glendon. Situated just outside the Town opposite the Cricket/Footie stadium and by the lovely park. Just a short 5-10 min walk away from the Town Centre with some good restaurants and shops nearby.

Hosts were friendly and informative about where to go and obviously take great pride in their well run business. If you want to visit Chatsworth House nearby, or other local attractions, ask for some tickets and they can sell them at a slightly cheaper price.

Breakfasts were hearty with a good choice on the menu including eggs Benedict, with a choice of ham or salmon, and some lovely porridge with cream. Of course all the usual cereal goodies and some fresh red and black fruit were also on offer.

Comfortable room, loads of storage with a well stocked fridge. KitKats came in handy for the late night munchies!

Would definitely stay here again if visiting again. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Go up market and ask for the 4 poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GBGTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Glendon. It is always good to know that guests find Glendon well run. It is important to us that guests enjoy their stay so we are very grateful for your feedback. If you are visiting the area again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Recently refurbished and done very well. Hosts very friendly and informative.Very good value for money. We would loved to have stayed longer but they were unfortunately full for next night-great for them. Only downside was an uncomfortable nights sleep due to mattress

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RachelsMum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are sorry we could not accommodate you for an extra night as we were full. I was not aware of any issues with a mattress as it was not mentioned before you left so can not comment specifically. I have checked back on the room you were in. I have looked carefully at the mattress and could not find any issue but have replaced it in case there was a problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a really excellent B&B based in Matlock. The hosts are very welcoming and knowledgeable and the rooms are excellent, fitted to an excellent standard and a huge amount of care and attention has clearly gone into making the place incredibly comfortable. Breakfast was most definitely a highlight, with a large amount of choice, food prepared to order and to a very high standard. Would most definitely recommend as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

It is always good to receive feedback, particularly when it is so positive. We are glad you also found Glendon to be friendly and welcoming. We know how important breakfast is and that is why we cook all food fresh and ensure we offer a broad choice. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a beautifully presented b&b - very clean and welcoming and in a lovely location. We stayed in the four-poster room at the front of the house and would recommend it, not only for the comfort, but also because of the view over the small park and river and because it is so quiet. The rooms at the back of the house MIGHT be noisy because of the busy main road on that side. The lemon drizzle cake and tea welcome was delicious and breakfast absolutely excellent.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook a quiet park and the 4 poster room is large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are lucky to have such a good location. The area is generally quiet with just the sound of the bells, that give a lovely feel. The house is lovely and we have tried hard to maintain the historical feel, while providing modern facilities. We hope you are able to stay at future point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at Glendon Guest House at the beginning of April. From the moment that we walked in the door we felt pampered and appreciated. The house and rooms are beautiful. The bed was sooooo comfortable that we thought about trying to stuff it into my car boot and bring it home. On arrival we were greeted with a lovely pot of tea along with a bit of delicious cake. The owner then gave us several wonderful restaurant suggestions as well as some information about the area. Breakfast was delicious with great service. I will go out of my way to stay here whenever we are anywhere near Matlock.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarleneAD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your very positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed your time at Glendon so much. We always try to provide relevant information about the area and it is good to know this was helpful .If you are in the area again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Glendon Guest House a weekend in June. As the guest house normally takes minimum two nights, we were lucky to be able to get a booking for a single night, even sweeter we were offered the four poster bedroom! On arrival, we were immediately welcomed with a smile into our room even when we were early before the check in time. The room was gorgeous with a good size ensuite and very clean. The pillows were very soft and sheets were smooth to ensure a good night sleep. Breakfast was great, with variety of cooked breakfast with fresh fruit; and the chef obliged to our little additional requests. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

I am glad we were able to accommodate your request. It is always good to hear how much guests enjoy their time at Glendon. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently spent four days at the Glendon - one of the best B&B experiences we have had. Genuine warm welcome from the owners; spotlessly clean, beautiful decor; very comfortable and well equipped rooms; wonderful breakfasts; ample onsite parking - all in all, couldn't fault anything. No hesitation in giving the Glendon a 5* recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

It is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Glendon and in Derbyshire. Thank you for taking the time to tell us. If you are visiting the area again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 54 in Matlock
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 54 in Matlock
444 reviews
17.1 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 54 in Matlock
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendon Guest House

Address: Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £75 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendon, a fine Victorian house, offers a genuine welcome. An ideal base for leisure and business visitors. Located on the edge of the Peak District we offer individually designed bedrooms with a range of amenities including a silent fridge and Wi-Fi. The sitting room, overlooking Knowleston Gardens, is an ideal place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast is served in the dining room and offers a full choice. Ample parking is available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing