We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful area, amazing host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverdale Guest House

Riverdale Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverdale Guest House
Ranked #29 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, amazing host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed one night, arriving shortly before tea time. Val welcomed us and showed us to our room. Though there are no pubs in the close vicinity there are plenty of places to eat and drink in Matlock Bath, which is about ten minutes away by car. Val gave us great directions and told us about the Matlock Bath illuminations and gave us an idea of where to eat.

Our room was beautiful. The views were stunning and it was silent. There is a TV in the room, which was ensuite. Val provided us with her wi-fi code. She asked us what time we would like breakfast and catered for our vegetarian requirements. After an AMAZING night's sleep in the world's comfiest bed we were treat to a fantastic breakfast. There was fresh fruit, different cereal, yoghurts and Val made us both a cooked breakfast.

We were sad to leave! Val was an attentive host and we felt right at home. The area is stunning and the house was lovely. It was also incredible value for money, and I wish more places offered such wonderful service for so little! I will definitely stay here again when we visit the area in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowfrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Lovely family run guest house, very friendly, beautifully appointed with excellent breakfasts and beautiful views. All in all, excellent value for money and would definitely recommend and go back again ourselves.

Room Tip: Just ask the owners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hopper a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We got a late booking at Riverdale and to be honest we were happy just to find a room in the Peak District during the school holidays. Well it turned out we were even luckier than we knew! The location is excellent (beautiful views, secluded but 2 mins from A6). The owners are very helpful and friendly without being overbearing, the breakfast was delicious and the room was very comfortable and impeccably clean. Very good value. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogter_Leg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

The guest house was very clean and tidy The views were amazing Although quite hilly getting about is no problem by car Plenty of pubs handy to have a meal at The owner was very helpful and couldnt do enough for us and the breakfast kept you full for most of the say Would definitely stop there again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrischazandcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
5.9 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Old Lockup
The Old Lockup
#1 of 5 in Wirksworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
8.7 mi away
Long Chimneys Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
6.7 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#3 of 6 in Darley Dale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Jug & Glass Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Guest House

Property: Riverdale Guest House
Address: Riverdale Middle Lane | Whatstandwell, Matlock DE4 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing