We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Matlock”
Review of Castle Green B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Green B&B
Ranked #1 of 52 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip to Matlock”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We thought that the Castle Green B&B was well run and offered very good overnight accommodation. It was convenient for access to the centre of Matlock and the hosts had a good knowledge of the local area.

If we were in that area again we would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johnglenys2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hi thank you for writing this review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again
kind regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    42
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
233
35
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just stayed two nights at Castle Green and I cannot fault the accommodation or the hosts.
John and Janet seem to of perfected the art of being friendly and hospitable without going over the top.
The room was very clean, comfortable and felt homely.
Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice.
Definitely will use again when in the area ( walking ) and will recommend to family etc.
Did find a butterfly wing under the bed though!!! Only joking ha ha .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcowdrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for writing this lovely review we are delighted that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us and appreciate you grading us as 5 star we do look forward to hosting you again when you do your walks in the peak district
regards John G
PS like the butterfly joke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just a very quick stopover as I was taking part in a sponsored event early in the morning. However, despite this, the room was fantastic - spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Not only did Janet direct me to a local pub for tea but she also gave me instructions on how to get to my venue round the back rounds. This local knowledge is invaluable. Breakfast was left ready and the convenient parking was a bonus. I intend to spend a couple of nights there in the summer when I am walking in Derbyshire.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write this lovely review we really appreciate your comments and are delighted to read that you intend staying with us again in the summer.
We hope that the fund raising walking event was well sponsored as the British Heart foundation does a fantastic job.
Regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Took my mum to Castle Green B&B for her 80th Birthday & it was a superb find. Janet & John were friendly & pleasant hosts. Location was excellent in a quiet little spot within walking distance (5-10 mins) of shops, pub, cafe's etc.. Breakfasts were lovely with a good choice of cereals, proper fresh fruit salad, porridge, full english etc... really tasty. Our room was a good size with en-suite shower room, tv, tea & coffee & had a great view over the tree tops to a castle in the distance & comfortable beds. Mum & I couldn't fault it in any way & we would definately stay here again. We Highly Recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wisecarhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Many thanks for writing this great review ,It was a pleasure talking with both you and your mum please remind her to send me those anti ageing tablets that make her look so young and healthy.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and delighted to read that you would definitely stay with us again.
kind regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Would defiantly stay here again, but will bring a torch for that dark lane ! Room was very comfy, the breakfast was great, with lots of choice. John and Janet are very welcoming and I would recommend anyone to stay here

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ndonSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for writing this review, it is pleasing when guests take the trouble to write a review and we are delighted when we read that they would recommend us to friends and family.
I take on board your comments recommending guests to bring a torch as the lane is quite dark and I shall ensure that we provide a torch in each of the rooms.
best wishes John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have stopped at Castle Green several times and is always my first choice when in the Matlock area. The accommodation is warm and cosy and more homely than a hotel. The rooms and en suite facilities are spotless and spacious. The breakfast, especially the fresh fruit salad, is delicious. Together with the warm and friendly greeting from Jan and John, I would not hesitate to recommend Castle Green to anyone wishing to stop in the Derbyshire Dales.

Stuart S

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi Stuart thank you so much for writing this great review we are delighted with your comments and we always look forward to your stays with us
again thanks and we hope to see you again soon.
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stopped of here on the way back from Scotland, after driving from edinburgh we checked in, we were greeted by John with a warm welcome. He then gave us a quick an well informed information about the local area and where to eat for dinner.
Rooms, and breakfast 5*, the shower and cubicle was the best I've seen in any 5* hotel or b&b.
Breakfast was more than enough to see through until supper.
Would recommend to all my friends and family along with anybody reading this review.

Room Tip: Good value close to centre of Matlock and only a short drive to Matlock Bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Antonywilliamchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Well what can we say but thank you for writing this super review, we are delighted that you rate us 5 star and would recommend others to stay with us as that means such a lot to us. We are pleased that you found the rooms,breakfast and the power shower to your liking
we hope that you stay with us the next time your in the Peak district
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
292 reviews
4.7 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#2 of 52 in Matlock
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 52 in Matlock
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green B&B

Property: Castle Green B&B
Address: Chalet Bungalow Butts Drive | Butts Drive, Matlock DE4 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Green B&B lies in a wooded valley within the Derbyshire Dales in the picturesque Derbyshire spa town of Matlock and offers luxury Peak District accommodation to visitors throughout the whole year. Opened in 2012, Castle Green is a Quality guest house that has been furbished to a very high standard. Inspected by the AA, it has been accredited with a 4 Star GOLD award.This delightful B&B is nestled deep in the leafy, tranquil and secluded grounds of the former Ernest Bailey mansion, just 10 minutes gentle walk from the town centre with its bus and rail stations. Access to the large block paved car park is gained by travelling to the end of Butts Drive (which is a private wooded driveway). Secure cycle storage is available for guests who intend using some of the many peak district cycle trails.Guest accommodation comprises of six tastefully appointed bedrooms each with en-suite facilities providing single, double and twin rooms, a premier room with super king bed and luxury wet room,a family suite (2 adults+2 children for less-mobile guests we have a ground floor bedroom with walk in wet room and extra wide door openings. A ground floor dining room, a secluded block paved patio, large wooden gazebo and grassed rear garden complete with, tables and chairs. Free Wi-Fi is provided.The B&B is run by John and Janet Green. John a retired Fire Officer and Janet who has worked within Tourism and Catering sectors for many years make every effort to ensure a pleasant stay and to provide and maintain the highest possible standard of service and welcome guests visiting for leisure or business. We are very happy to cater for guests with dietary preference such as Gluten intolerance, vegan, celiac and vegetarian.Should you have any queries or concerns please feel free to contact us. Bookings can be made on line, by email or telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Castle Green B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing