We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late notice of cancelled booking.”
Review of Castle Green B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Green B&B
Ranked #2 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Thundridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Late notice of cancelled booking.”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Attending a wedding on Saturday so my wife booked this lovely b&b. to check we'd be able to check in at lunchtime my wife phoned and left a msg.

The response was a call back to regretfully inform us that the room was now unavailable due to decorating over-running. It would've been nice to have some prior warning ! Fortunately we were able to find other accommodation which to their credit was recommended to us by Castle Green.

I'd like to think we were on there list to call first thing tomorrow to not leave it any later for us to arrange alternative accommodation.

A shame as it really does look a nice place but a bit more urgency when communicating with customers would be an idea.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TomPattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi thank you for the review
we are very sorry that we had to cancel your booking and only informed you on the Monday before you were due to arrive on the Saturday. We are pleased that we managed to find you an alternative accommodation. As I explained the over run was caused by an unplanned serious illness and we have offered a discounted stay with us for the inconvenience caused. I take on board your comment of more notice and again apologize.
kind regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    42
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
225
35
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent room, really friendly and helpful people. Gave very good advice about the local restaurants and attractions. Breakfast was lovely and they were very accommodating of particular tastes. The bedroom was very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi Michelle ,thank you for writing this review It is very rewarding when we receive such positive comments from guests who enjoyed not only there stay with us but also the restaurants and attractions that Matlock has to offer.
Best wishes for 2014 John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We loved our stay here. The room was spotless, the breakfast fantastic, our hosts were extremely friendly. We stayed for one night but would be happy to stay again and would recommend to others. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hi.well first of all both Janet and I would like to wish you a happy Christmas and hope you have a wonderful new year
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to others and we look forward to you staying with us again
kind regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Excellent place to stay, Janet and John were the perfect hosts, showing us to our room and recommending places to eat for the evening, Breakfast was superb with plenty of choice. would definitely book again if we were in the area. first time to visit the area and had a great time visiting various locations and the Christmas fair in Matlock.

Room Tip: if the room we stayed in was excellent I would guess all the rooms are nice and quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank garyvuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for writing this great review,its great to here that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed Matlocks Christmas fair. Janet appreciates the high reviews for the breakfasts she prepares and we both would like to take the opportunity of wishing you a Happy Christmas and hope that you have a great New Year
best wishes John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Excellent accommodation and breakfast. We looked for somewhere near a family celebration and originally wanted to book at the nearby premier inn. We are so glad we couldn't get in, it was cheaper and included a breakfast. All you could require for a stay - cleanliness, comfortable bed and great shower with all the necessities! We will definitely go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you so much for submitting this great review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much that you intend to stay with us again.
We do work hard to ensure that the accommodation is maintained to a high standard and appreciate reviews that support this.
Again thanks and we look forward to seeing you again
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were given a warm welcome by Janet, the landlady of Castle Green. It was our mini honeymoon and she had thoughtfully left a large box of chocolates on the bed and decorated the room to congratulate us. The room was large enough, warm and cosy with a fantastic large walk in shower room. Breakfast was fine and enough to set us up for the day. Janet was friendly and approachable and nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luci1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hi many thanks for writing this review we are pleased that you would recommend others to stay with us at castle green. Janet is delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast as she does put a lot of effort in ensuring that we can cater for all tastes
Im sorry I missed you on your mini honeymoon but Im pleased that you liked the decorations and chocolates that we were happy to supply for you.
kind regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this b&b for one night on Monday 18th Nov. The house is spotlessly clean and in a quiet location. We were warm and very comfortable. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice. There was lots of secure parking space marked out in bays. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hi thank you for taking the time to write this review We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted to hear that you would stay with us again.
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
368 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 51 in Matlock
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#1 of 51 in Matlock
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green B&B

Property: Castle Green B&B
Address: Chalet Bungalow Butts Drive | Butts Drive, Matlock DE4 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Green B&B lies in a wooded valley within the Derbyshire Dales in the picturesque Derbyshire spa town of Matlock and offers luxury Peak District accommodation to visitors throughout the whole year. Opened in 2012, Castle Green is a Quality guest house that has been furbished to a very high standard. Inspected by the AA, it has been accredited with a 4 Star GOLD award.This delightful B&B is nestled deep in the leafy, tranquil and secluded grounds of the former Ernest Bailey mansion, just 10 minutes gentle walk from the town centre with its bus and rail stations. Access to the large block paved car park is gained by travelling to the end of Butts Drive (which is a private wooded driveway). Secure cycle storage is available for guests who intend using some of the many peak district cycle trails.Guest accommodation comprises of six tastefully appointed bedrooms each with en-suite facilities providing single, double and twin rooms, a premier room with super king bed and luxury wet room,a family suite (2 adults+2 children for less-mobile guests we have a ground floor bedroom with walk in wet room and extra wide door openings. A ground floor dining room, a secluded block paved patio, large wooden gazebo and grassed rear garden complete with, tables and chairs. Free Wi-Fi is provided.The B&B is run by John and Janet Green. John a retired Fire Officer and Janet who has worked within Tourism and Catering sectors for many years make every effort to ensure a pleasant stay and to provide and maintain the highest possible standard of service and welcome guests visiting for leisure or business. We are very happy to cater for guests with dietary preference such as Gluten intolerance, vegan, celiac and vegetarian.Should you have any queries or concerns please feel free to contact us. Bookings can be made on line, by email or telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle Green B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing