We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B.”
Review of Castle Green B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Green B&B
Ranked #2 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Better than most hotels I have stayed in around the world. Great Room, with a high degree of attention to detail. Wet room excellent and the breakfast was awesome. I cannot recommend this place high enough. Anyone thinking of a short stay in the White Peak, should pick this place in a heartbeat. Ideally suited for Chatsworth, and the lower Derwent Valley.

Thanks Janet and John. Loved our first stay. Will see you soon.

Alan and Pauline Brand

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan_and_Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Janet and I would like to thank you for submitting this great review .
we are delighted that you liked the wet room in our ground floor Premier room.
Janet says thanks for the compliments regarding breakfast.
We are very lucky to be positioned in such a nice part of The Peak district with so many local attractions like Chatsworth House,Hadden Hall,Hieghts of Abraham etc nearby
Again many thanks
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    42
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
225
35
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Neots
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My second visit - and as before I was warmly welcomed - made to feel at home in a very comfortable single room with everything I needed and enough space to move about too! The bed was super-comfortable and house really quiet even though all rooms were occupied - and the shower excellent. Breakfast offered everything I could think anyone would want and the cooked breakfast was superb every day! Although the weather was not very good while I was there this time, returning to a comfortable and welcoming 'home' where I could relax in my room comfortably made all the difference. Beautiful countryside around and plenty of places to visit. Looking forward to next visit - thanks Janet & John.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Judi,
its was great meeting you again and what can I say but thanks for this fantastic review we enjoyed talking with you and its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be visiting us again sorry about the weather but perhaps you could have a word before your next visit!
kind regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The best B and B we have stayed in, perfect for families. Very unique room layout that allows parents to be completely satisfied that there children are safe but not all sharing the same room! So many hotels don't offer this and once it's bedtime then the parents have to sit quietly in the dark too! The separate room with the bunk beds is just perfect, breakfast was served in a completely flexible and family friendly way, the kids could just pick whAt they wanted from the menu, porridge beans on toast scrambled egg on toast etc. the rooms were finished to a very high standard. Lovely and warm and very clean. Even the garden had some things for the kids to play on!

Room Tip: For families go for the family room of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much for writing this great review its great to get such positive feed back about our family room as we did put guests thoughts and suggestions into the layout of the room with safety of the children paramount.
The room is proving to be very popular with mum and dad being able to relax and watch TV with out being disturbed!!
Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the future
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great place to stay to explore Matlock and the surrounding area. Brilliant family room, as it can be hard to find a place that has a separate sleeping area for the kids without being charged extra. We were definitely happy to shut the door on the kids after a full day at Gulliver's World! Lovely decorated, clean, comfy beds, great shower, friendly and helpful hosts. Ten minute walk down into Matlock where there is lots of restaurants to choose from. If we are ever in the area again we'll definitely pay Janet and John a visit. If you book direct from their website NHS workers get 10% discount.

Room Tip: Family room with bunk beds perfect for those with young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi Janet and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay despite the weather! and its great to read that you would stay with us again
We are happy to offer a discount to NHS workers and the armed forces when they book a couple of nights direct with us.
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Perfecty placed. Room was perfectly acceptable; cleanliness astonishing.

We are regular travellers and have rarely stayed anywhere better and certainly not at their price.
Janet and John (sorry) are wonderful hosts and breakfast was perfect.

We were meeting friends from the other end of the country arriving late. We were given their keys and J & J moved us to the room next door.

Fridge in the room was useful, TV, hairdrier and all you would expect from a top class B&B.

We cannot recommend more highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for this great review
we are delighted that you rate us so highly and found our home so appealing
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely comfortable B&B with all mod cons. Highly recommended. First class breakfast to see us on our Limestone Way walk of 14 miles. Rooms clean and very comfortable and serviced and cleaned to a high standard
Thanks janet and John

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Lorraine thank you for your lovely comments we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found Janets breakfast to your Taste
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe, bucks
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Castle Green. Excellent accommodation which was lovely and clean with excellent decor. The breakfast was made to order and was one of the best we have had. Our first night out we ate at The Red Lion as recommended by John - the food was superb and the service excellent. Second night out we ate at Maazi Indian restaurant again recommended by John. We are so glad we booked as it got rally busy and we could see why - the food was superb. We will definitely go back and stay at Castle Green as it's a great base to explore the Peak District and close enough to the town centre to walk in to and have a few beers. Extremely quiet at night in the B&B so couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sag43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for writing this super review we are really pleased that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us and as you found we are lucky to be so well positioned with great eating and drinking establishments close-by
We look forward to your next visit with us
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
368 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 51 in Matlock
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#1 of 51 in Matlock
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green B&B

Property: Castle Green B&B
Address: Chalet Bungalow Butts Drive | Butts Drive, Matlock DE4 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Green B&B lies in a wooded valley within the Derbyshire Dales in the picturesque Derbyshire spa town of Matlock and offers luxury Peak District accommodation to visitors throughout the whole year. Opened in 2012, Castle Green is a Quality guest house that has been furbished to a very high standard. Inspected by the AA, it has been accredited with a 4 Star GOLD award.This delightful B&B is nestled deep in the leafy, tranquil and secluded grounds of the former Ernest Bailey mansion, just 10 minutes gentle walk from the town centre with its bus and rail stations. Access to the large block paved car park is gained by travelling to the end of Butts Drive (which is a private wooded driveway). Secure cycle storage is available for guests who intend using some of the many peak district cycle trails.Guest accommodation comprises of six tastefully appointed bedrooms each with en-suite facilities providing single, double and twin rooms, a premier room with super king bed and luxury wet room,a family suite (2 adults+2 children for less-mobile guests we have a ground floor bedroom with walk in wet room and extra wide door openings. A ground floor dining room, a secluded block paved patio, large wooden gazebo and grassed rear garden complete with, tables and chairs. Free Wi-Fi is provided.The B&B is run by John and Janet Green. John a retired Fire Officer and Janet who has worked within Tourism and Catering sectors for many years make every effort to ensure a pleasant stay and to provide and maintain the highest possible standard of service and welcome guests visiting for leisure or business. We are very happy to cater for guests with dietary preference such as Gluten intolerance, vegan, celiac and vegetarian.Should you have any queries or concerns please feel free to contact us. Bookings can be made on line, by email or telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle Green B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing