We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the Castle”
Review of Castle Green B&B

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Green B&B
Ranked #2 of 52 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My stay at the Castle”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Janet and John work seamlessly as a team. Nothing is forgotten to make one's stay very comfortable. The house was spotless, the meal was outstanding and the ambiance was jovial and courteous. Lots of suggestions given for area activities. Lots of good cheer on the patio, when I could take my eyes away from Candy Crush. Great, central location. Very modern home in a picturesque setting and very quiet. Tickets for local attractions can be purchased from Janet at a discount from what the retailer sells them for. Lots of good restaurants close by. Close to all the towns of interest in Derbyshire.
A definite return one day!
Many thanks for making my stay a great experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Janet and I would like to thank you for writing this super review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in England and really pleased that you had a great time staying with us hope you had a safe journey home and that you got the better of Candy Crush lol
regards John G
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    42
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
225
35
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Although there was no common area inside, the outside patio and fountain offered another place to relax. The dining room was bright and cheery for you to enjoy a great "English Breakfast". They offered to make my order of just bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms into a grilled pannini, which was wonderful. Fruit, juice, yogurt, cereal, sausages, eggs, and toast were the rest of the "English" offering. Lovely little fridge in the room stocked with items which could be purchased. Great parking area at B&B for cars, if you are driving Location to sizeable Matlock Citi Center and beautiful old St. Giles Church and Cemetery was perfect for soaking up some history and maybe find your family names. Matlock Bath is right down the road, which is kind of touristy and cute with a fish pond. Reminded us of a small Gatlinburg in the USA.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the outside patio area relaxing. Following feed back from guests we have recently fitted fridges in the all but the single bedrooms and they are proving to be popular.
We are also pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and we will continue to offer the wide selection to choose from.
regards John G
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just spent the one night here but I can say that it all went well. Ample off road car parking, a comfy bed and a good cooked breakfast. The location is a short walk from the centre of Matlock and the owner can give good local advice on the restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Ben thank you for writing this review ,we are pleased that everything went well during your stay
regards John G
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had a lovely stay & will definitely be returning. The B&B was clean & comfortable and I cannot fault it. Janet & John were welcoming throughout. The location is also an excellent base for exploring Matlock and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and when guests say that they will stay with us again it reassures us that we are getting it right
We look forward to your next visit
Regards John G
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights 6th June - 8th June 2014, you get a very warm welcome from the owners Janet and John, the rooms are lovely and clean, breakfast are excellent. we hope to come again and would recommend this B & B if visiting Matlock.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi firstly I would like to thank you for writing this review ,it does means a lot to us when we read that guests felt welcome and enjoyed there stay in our home.
It would be lovely to see you again when next you visit the Peak district
kind regards John G
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent a lovely 3 days up in the Peak District and found this B&B very clean, comfortable and welcoming. John and Janet were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly recommend this B &B to anyone visiting the Peak District.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and pleased that you would recommend staying at our B&B to others
thanks again
John G
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Better than most hotels I have stayed in around the world. Great Room, with a high degree of attention to detail. Wet room excellent and the breakfast was awesome. I cannot recommend this place high enough. Anyone thinking of a short stay in the White Peak, should pick this place in a heartbeat. Ideally suited for Chatsworth, and the lower Derwent Valley.

Thanks Janet and John. Loved our first stay. Will see you soon.

Alan and Pauline Brand

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Janet and I would like to thank you for submitting this great review .
we are delighted that you liked the wet room in our ground floor Premier room.
Janet says thanks for the compliments regarding breakfast.
We are very lucky to be positioned in such a nice part of The Peak district with so many local attractions like Chatsworth House,Hadden Hall,Hieghts of Abraham etc nearby
Again many thanks
regards John G
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
368 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 52 in Matlock
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#1 of 52 in Matlock
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Castle Green B&B

Property: Castle Green B&B
Address: Chalet Bungalow Butts Drive | Butts Drive, Matlock DE4 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Green B&B lies in a wooded valley within the Derbyshire Dales in the picturesque Derbyshire spa town of Matlock and offers luxury Peak District accommodation to visitors throughout the whole year. Opened in 2012, Castle Green is a Quality guest house that has been furbished to a very high standard. Inspected by the AA, it has been accredited with a 4 Star GOLD award.This delightful B&B is nestled deep in the leafy, tranquil and secluded grounds of the former Ernest Bailey mansion, just 10 minutes gentle walk from the town centre with its bus and rail stations. Access to the large block paved car park is gained by travelling to the end of Butts Drive (which is a private wooded driveway). Secure cycle storage is available for guests who intend using some of the many peak district cycle trails.Guest accommodation comprises of six tastefully appointed bedrooms each with en-suite facilities providing single, double and twin rooms, a premier room with super king bed and luxury wet room,a family suite (2 adults+2 children for less-mobile guests we have a ground floor bedroom with walk in wet room and extra wide door openings. A ground floor dining room, a secluded block paved patio, large wooden gazebo and grassed rear garden complete with, tables and chairs. Free Wi-Fi is provided.The B&B is run by John and Janet Green. John a retired Fire Officer and Janet who has worked within Tourism and Catering sectors for many years make every effort to ensure a pleasant stay and to provide and maintain the highest possible standard of service and welcome guests visiting for leisure or business. We are very happy to cater for guests with dietary preference such as Gluten intolerance, vegan, celiac and vegetarian.Should you have any queries or concerns please feel free to contact us. Bookings can be made on line, by email or telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Green B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing