We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2014 stay at Castle Green.”
Review of Castle Green B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green B&B
Ranked #1 of 54 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at Castle View whilst on a recent 2 day course in the Matlock area. Had a very warm welcome on arrival, coupled with some excellent advice on local eating places ( both of the ones that I visited { Viva and the Red Lion } proved to be really good.

Delighted to have a single room - rather unusual these days. It was also at the rear of the house, so a very quiet night. Great too to have a safe in the room.

Location is some 2 mins out of Matlock centre by car - 7 -8 mins walk.

Started each day with an excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. In the area again in Sept, and will definitely choose Castle Green again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi John its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are delighted that you intend to stay with us again
all of our rooms have a safe and they are proving very popular especially with overseas visitors who need to keep there passports safe
many thanks and we look forward to your next visit
regards John G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

As this was our 1st time at a B&B we were presently surprised, excellent hosts who knew the local area and made excellent recommendations, breakfast was just great no need for lunch!!!
We have always stayed in hotels but now we will certainly switch to a B&B anytime and would recommend this site to friends and family

Room Tip: All rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you very much for writing this super review we are delighted that you enjoyed your first ever stay in a B&B with us it was lovely meeting you and we hope that you will stay with us again the next time that you visit the Peak district
regards John G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

WOW!! What a fantastic place to stay . . absolutely perfect. We stayed in the Premier Room which was ideal for my mobility problems as it has a beautiful large wet room and a comfy king size bed. Pristine bed linen and towels, super little mini fridge stocked with several tempting delights . . . everything you need and more. This is the best ever B&B I've ever stayed in. The breakfast was superb (my husband LOVED the full English, I had cheese/mushroom omelette), nothing was too much trouble for Janet and John - the BEST hosts ever, very friendly and helpful in every way, they made us feel like one of their family. My only regret is that we only stayed for two nights! Definitely coming back again as soon as we can. I will certainly highly recommend your home to others. Quiet surroundings, ample car parking - just a top class place to stay.

Room Tip: I would expect all the rooms to be as perfect as the one we stayed in . . . you will not be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Carol
Well first of all thank you so much for writing this fantastic review
Both Janet and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted that you intend to stay with us again,we look forward to seeing you again
kind regards John g

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Thankyou for letting us stay in your lovely bungalow and for the very nice breakfast . We had a lovely time in Matlock celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary . We would recommend staying for anyone who wants to be away from noisey traffic butt close to bars & restaurants

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for sending in this review we are very happy that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary in Matlock and that you had a lovely stay with us it was nice meeting you and we hope to see you again
regards John G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This Bed and Breakfast has all you could wish for - friendly hosts with a fine sense of humour; good breakfasts; comfortable accommodation; ample parking space - all in a very pleasant spot and within easy reach of many tourist attractions. What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi many thanks for these lovely comments we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very fortunate to be so well placed for visiting all the attractions that the peak district has to offer
regards john G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Janet and John work seamlessly as a team. Nothing is forgotten to make one's stay very comfortable. The house was spotless, the meal was outstanding and the ambiance was jovial and courteous. Lots of suggestions given for area activities. Lots of good cheer on the patio, when I could take my eyes away from Candy Crush. Great, central location. Very modern home in a picturesque setting and very quiet. Tickets for local attractions can be purchased from Janet at a discount from what the retailer sells them for. Lots of good restaurants close by. Close to all the towns of interest in Derbyshire.
A definite return one day!
Many thanks for making my stay a great experience

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freddysreadynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Janet and I would like to thank you for writing this super review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in England and really pleased that you had a great time staying with us hope you had a safe journey home and that you got the better of Candy Crush lol
regards John G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Although there was no common area inside, the outside patio and fountain offered another place to relax. The dining room was bright and cheery for you to enjoy a great "English Breakfast". They offered to make my order of just bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms into a grilled pannini, which was wonderful. Fruit, juice, yogurt, cereal, sausages, eggs, and toast were the rest of the "English" offering. Lovely little fridge in the room stocked with items which could be purchased. Great parking area at B&B for cars, if you are driving Location to sizeable Matlock Citi Center and beautiful old St. Giles Church and Cemetery was perfect for soaking up some history and maybe find your family names. Matlock Bath is right down the road, which is kind of touristy and cute with a fish pond. Reminded us of a small Gatlinburg in the USA.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnFox27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hi we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the outside patio area relaxing. Following feed back from guests we have recently fitted fridges in the all but the single bedrooms and they are proving to be popular.
We are also pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and we will continue to offer the wide selection to choose from.
regards John G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 3 in Matlock
424 reviews
3.9 mi away
Deeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 54 in Matlock
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 54 in Matlock
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green B&B

Address: Chalet Bungalow Butts Drive | Butts Drive, Matlock DE4 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £82 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Green B&B lies in a wooded valley within the Derbyshire Dales in the picturesque Derbyshire spa town of Matlock and offers luxury Peak District accommodation to visitors throughout the whole year. Inspected by the AA, it has been accredited with a 4 Star GOLD award. Secure cycle storage available, accommodation comprises of six tastefully appointed bedrooms each with en-suite facilities providing single, double and twin rooms, a premier room with super king bed and luxury wet room, for less-mobile guests we have a ground floor bedroom with walk in wet room and extra wide door openings. A ground floor dining room, a secluded block paved patio, large wooden gazebo and grassed rear garden complete with, tables and chairs. Free Wi-Fi is provided. We are very happy to cater for guests with dietary preference such as Gluten intolerance, vegan, celiac and vegetarian. For best prices,Bookings can be made on line, by email or telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Green B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing