We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the heartiest of welcomes”
Review of Castle Green B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Green B&B
Ranked #2 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carvin, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“the heartiest of welcomes”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Janet and John are very kind and they 've given us all information we've need to explore the surrounding countryside. The breakfast was really delicious!!! The place is very quiet. I recommend you this B and B, you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: You've choosen a family room : one room for adults separated by a door from the room for childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DumontClaudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to others
thanks again John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    42
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
225
35
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thanks to Janet & John who made our Anniversary stay even better. A very warm welcome awaits and makes you feel invited. A great knowledge of the area. If you need anything ask, very helpful. Will definitely return. Thank you. Dave & Louise.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Dave and Louise
Thank you for writing this review we are pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary with us and delighted to know that you intend staying with us again
kind regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

John was very helpful and directed us to a great Indian restaurant for dinner and a lovely pub for a pint. Great room and service was excellent. Brilliant breakfast. Everyone was very friendly. Perhaps tissues in the room would be nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDnEMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi thank you for your comments we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your absolutely right it is nice to have tissues in the bed rooms and we do provide them in all of our room ,please accept my apologies as there must have been an over site when the room was serviced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were only here for one night, but will definitely be returning! John and Janet are most welcoming, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent - a great choice and delicious. If you book to stay here - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkeastlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for rating us a "fantastic B&B"
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you intend staying with us again,it reassures us that we are getting it right.
Look forward to meeting you again
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very nice, comfortable and respectful place to stay. I arrived in the middle of a World Cup semi-final, so my intro by John was a bit hurried, but I've only got myself to blame for that! In the morning he was very welcoming, friendly and warm. The single bedroom has everything you need, with a nice and very clean en-suite bathroom. The bed is very soft, but not uncomfortably so. The free wifi was useful. I didn't have the full English breakfast, but the other guests that did really enjoyed it. The only fly in the ointment was, despite the whole place being calm and quiet, I was woken at 06h20 by continual noise from some very loud plumbing and (I presume) water pumps. I would definitely stay again, but this time request a double bedroom which hopefully won't be affected as much.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, the single bedroom (number 3) is not ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babydinosaurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi thanks for your review its great to know that you would definitely stay with us again,we are pleased that you found our home to be a"Very nice, comfortable and respectful place to stay". Sorry about the world cup but it was a penalty shootout lol.
Our single room is proving to be very popular as the bed has a deep memory foam mattress which makes it so comfortable. All of our rooms have free wi-fi and all are en-suite with high quality power showers
I will get our plumber look at the plumbing issue that you have raised as nobody using the single room have mentioned anything before ,please accept my apologies for any inconvenience.
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The overnight stay provided a warm welcome, clean comfortable accommodation, very good breakfast. Also John gave us great advice on where to dine (Red Lion) and the best way to spend our short time in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for writing this review its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us
regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

we stopped at the Castle Green for 2 nights, the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely plenty of choice and John gave us some great information on where to go and eat or have a drink within walking distance of the B&B The Indian Meeezi was one of the best Indians we had been to in a long while. would defiantly recommend to friends and visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiseann1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Many thanks for sending in this lovely review we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the Maazi to your liking we look forward to your next visit
kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
368 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 51 in Matlock
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#1 of 51 in Matlock
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green B&B

Property: Castle Green B&B
Address: Chalet Bungalow Butts Drive | Butts Drive, Matlock DE4 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Green B&B lies in a wooded valley within the Derbyshire Dales in the picturesque Derbyshire spa town of Matlock and offers luxury Peak District accommodation to visitors throughout the whole year. Opened in 2012, Castle Green is a Quality guest house that has been furbished to a very high standard. Inspected by the AA, it has been accredited with a 4 Star GOLD award.This delightful B&B is nestled deep in the leafy, tranquil and secluded grounds of the former Ernest Bailey mansion, just 10 minutes gentle walk from the town centre with its bus and rail stations. Access to the large block paved car park is gained by travelling to the end of Butts Drive (which is a private wooded driveway). Secure cycle storage is available for guests who intend using some of the many peak district cycle trails.Guest accommodation comprises of six tastefully appointed bedrooms each with en-suite facilities providing single, double and twin rooms, a premier room with super king bed and luxury wet room,a family suite (2 adults+2 children for less-mobile guests we have a ground floor bedroom with walk in wet room and extra wide door openings. A ground floor dining room, a secluded block paved patio, large wooden gazebo and grassed rear garden complete with, tables and chairs. Free Wi-Fi is provided.The B&B is run by John and Janet Green. John a retired Fire Officer and Janet who has worked within Tourism and Catering sectors for many years make every effort to ensure a pleasant stay and to provide and maintain the highest possible standard of service and welcome guests visiting for leisure or business. We are very happy to cater for guests with dietary preference such as Gluten intolerance, vegan, celiac and vegetarian.Should you have any queries or concerns please feel free to contact us. Bookings can be made on line, by email or telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Green B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing