We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle Green B&B”
Review of Castle Green B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green B&B
Ranked #1 of 53 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely guest house very near to Matlock. John and Janet made us feel very much at home. The room was comfortable even in hot weather. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked. We enjoyed the garden. We were very close to Chatsworth. The surrounding area is wonderful for walking and exploring. We would strongly recommend this place and look forward to another holiday there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi thanks for taking the time to write this review, its great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt at home .
Our garden is a great sun trap and we are pleased that you enjoyed using it
both Janet and I look forward to your next visit
kind regards John G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Castle Green B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed for a night - not a great sleep despite the large bed. Room was very well equipped and I liked the fan which was helpful during the warm night. Very quiet location about half a mile from the centre of Matlock - so its an easy walk for anyone with reasonable mobility. Breakfast was pretty standard but a good fresh fruit salad was very welcome as a starter. I ordered porridge which was cooked properly but not offered anything to go with it (I normally have honey and dry fruit)

Owners very helpful on arrival and on departure so you got the idea that they were trying to look after you. Probably would have got a higher rating if we had a good sleep but for some reason neither of us did

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonraker244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you found the bedroom well equipped with a super-king sized bed and the fan useful and our home set in a quiet location.
Im sorry to hear that you didn't get a good nights sleep but as you don't know the reason I cant do any thing but sympathize.
I am pleased you enjoyed the fresh fruit salad its unfortunate that you decided not to have the cooked breakfast that you pre-ordered as I'm sure that you would have enjoyed it.
we did prepare your porridge and added a portion of double cream and i am sorry that you did not notice the honey and the syrup that was on the display counter next to the selection of cereals.
We do as you mention put a great deal of effort to make everyone feel welcome as we did with the 3 adults who came to visit you during your 1 night stay .We were also happy for them to leave their vehicle and the dog while they accompanied you into town for your evening meal.
regards John G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at Castle Green for two nights for a weekend away. The B&B was easy to find, the staff are extremely helpful, and the room was in excellent condition. The breakfast was very good too. We really enjoyed our stay and the next time we're in the Peak District we'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Many thanks for writing this review we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next stay
regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Janet and John are very kind and they 've given us all information we've need to explore the surrounding countryside. The breakfast was really delicious!!! The place is very quiet. I recommend you this B and B, you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: You've choosen a family room : one room for adults separated by a door from the room for childre...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DumontClaudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to others
thanks again John G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thanks to Janet & John who made our Anniversary stay even better. A very warm welcome awaits and makes you feel invited. A great knowledge of the area. If you need anything ask, very helpful. Will definitely return. Thank you. Dave & Louise.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi Dave and Louise
Thank you for writing this review we are pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary with us and delighted to know that you intend staying with us again
kind regards John G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

John was very helpful and directed us to a great Indian restaurant for dinner and a lovely pub for a pint. Great room and service was excellent. Brilliant breakfast. Everyone was very friendly. Perhaps tissues in the room would be nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDnEMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi thank you for your comments we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your absolutely right it is nice to have tissues in the bed rooms and we do provide them in all of our room ,please accept my apologies as there must have been an over site when the room was serviced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were only here for one night, but will definitely be returning! John and Janet are most welcoming, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent - a great choice and delicious. If you book to stay here - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkeastlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for rating us a "fantastic B&B"
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you intend staying with us again,it reassures us that we are getting it right.
Look forward to meeting you again
regards John G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
379 reviews
5.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#2 of 53 in Matlock
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green B&B

Address: Chalet Bungalow Butts Drive | Butts Drive, Matlock DE4 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range: £80 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Green B&B lies in a wooded valley within the Derbyshire Dales in the picturesque Derbyshire spa town of Matlock and offers luxury Peak District accommodation to visitors throughout the whole year. Opened in 2012, Castle Green is a Quality guest house that has been furbished to a very high standard. Inspected by the AA, it has been accredited with a 4 Star GOLD award.This delightful B&B is nestled deep in the leafy, tranquil and secluded grounds of the former Ernest Bailey mansion, just 10 minutes gentle walk from the town centre with its bus and rail stations. Access to the large block paved car park is gained by travelling to the end of Butts Drive (which is a private wooded driveway). Secure cycle storage is available for guests who intend using some of the many peak district cycle trails.Guest accommodation comprises of six tastefully appointed bedrooms each with en-suite facilities providing single, double and twin rooms, a premier room with super king bed and luxury wet room,a family suite (2 adults+2 children for less-mobile guests we have a ground floor bedroom with walk in wet room and extra wide door openings. A ground floor dining room, a secluded block paved patio, large wooden gazebo and grassed rear garden complete with, tables and chairs. Free Wi-Fi is provided.The B&B is run by John and Janet Green. John a retired Fire Officer and Janet who has worked within Tourism and Catering sectors for many years make every effort to ensure a pleasant stay and to provide and maintain the highest possible standard of service and welcome guests visiting for leisure or business. We are very happy to cater for guests with dietary preference such as Gluten intolerance, vegan, celiac and vegetarian.Should you have any queries or concerns please feel free to contact us. Bookings can be made on line, by email or telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Green B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing