We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle Green B & B Matlock”
Review of Castle Green B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Green B&B
Ranked #1 of 51 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Castle Green B & B Matlock”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

we recently stayed for 3 nights and the accommodation was very clean and tidy and included a safe and tea making facilities - Janet and John were very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice available - our train wasn't until the evening and we were able to leave our cases , and when we came back to collect them John ran us to the station .
We would not hesitate to recommend Castle Green to anyone wishing to stay in Matlock

Wendy and Terry - Greenhithe

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Wendy and Terry
Thanks for this review we are delighted that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us Janet appreciates the feed back about her breakfasts and from the comments written in our guest book the safe like the recently installed fridges are proving very popular.
We enjoyed meeting you and I was happy to give you a lift to the train station we hope that you stay with us again the next time you visit the Peak district
kind regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    42
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
220
34
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely guest house very near to Matlock. John and Janet made us feel very much at home. The room was comfortable even in hot weather. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked. We enjoyed the garden. We were very close to Chatsworth. The surrounding area is wonderful for walking and exploring. We would strongly recommend this place and look forward to another holiday there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlegreenbandb, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi thanks for taking the time to write this review, its great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt at home .
Our garden is a great sun trap and we are pleased that you enjoyed using it
both Janet and I look forward to your next visit
kind regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed for a night - not a great sleep despite the large bed. Room was very well equipped and I liked the fan which was helpful during the warm night. Very quiet location about half a mile from the centre of Matlock - so its an easy walk for anyone with reasonable mobility. Breakfast was pretty standard but a good fresh fruit salad was very welcome as a starter. I ordered porridge which was cooked properly but not offered anything to go with it (I normally have honey and dry fruit)

Owners very helpful on arrival and on departure so you got the idea that they were trying to look after you. Probably would have got a higher rating if we had a good sleep but for some reason neither of us did

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonraker244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you found the bedroom well equipped with a super-king sized bed and the fan useful and our home set in a quiet location.
Im sorry to hear that you didn't get a good nights sleep but as you don't know the reason I cant do any thing but sympathize.
I am pleased you enjoyed the fresh fruit salad its unfortunate that you decided not to have the cooked breakfast that you pre-ordered as I'm sure that you would have enjoyed it.
we did prepare your porridge and added a portion of double cream and i am sorry that you did not notice the honey and the syrup that was on the display counter next to the selection of cereals.
We do as you mention put a great deal of effort to make everyone feel welcome as we did with the 3 adults who came to visit you during your 1 night stay .We were also happy for them to leave their vehicle and the dog while they accompanied you into town for your evening meal.
regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at Castle Green for two nights for a weekend away. The B&B was easy to find, the staff are extremely helpful, and the room was in excellent condition. The breakfast was very good too. We really enjoyed our stay and the next time we're in the Peak District we'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Many thanks for writing this review we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next stay
regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carvin, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Janet and John are very kind and they 've given us all information we've need to explore the surrounding countryside. The breakfast was really delicious!!! The place is very quiet. I recommend you this B and B, you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: You've choosen a family room : one room for adults separated by a door from the room for childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DumontClaudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to others
thanks again John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thanks to Janet & John who made our Anniversary stay even better. A very warm welcome awaits and makes you feel invited. A great knowledge of the area. If you need anything ask, very helpful. Will definitely return. Thank you. Dave & Louise.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Dave and Louise
Thank you for writing this review we are pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary with us and delighted to know that you intend staying with us again
kind regards John G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

John was very helpful and directed us to a great Indian restaurant for dinner and a lovely pub for a pint. Great room and service was excellent. Brilliant breakfast. Everyone was very friendly. Perhaps tissues in the room would be nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDnEMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Castle Green B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi thank you for your comments we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your absolutely right it is nice to have tissues in the bed rooms and we do provide them in all of our room ,please accept my apologies as there must have been an over site when the room was serviced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock
1.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
241 reviews
5.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#2 of 51 in Matlock
431 reviews
7.8 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green B&B

Property: Castle Green B&B
Address: Chalet Bungalow Butts Drive | Butts Drive, Matlock DE4 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Green B&B lies in a wooded valley within the Derbyshire Dales in the picturesque Derbyshire spa town of Matlock and offers luxury Peak District accommodation to visitors throughout the whole year. Opened in 2012, Castle Green is a Quality guest house that has been furbished to a very high standard. Inspected by the AA, it has been accredited with a 4 Star GOLD award.This delightful B&B is nestled deep in the leafy, tranquil and secluded grounds of the former Ernest Bailey mansion, just 10 minutes gentle walk from the town centre with its bus and rail stations. Access to the large block paved car park is gained by travelling to the end of Butts Drive (which is a private wooded driveway). Secure cycle storage is available for guests who intend using some of the many peak district cycle trails.Guest accommodation comprises of six tastefully appointed bedrooms each with en-suite facilities providing single, double and twin rooms, a premier room with super king bed and luxury wet room,a family suite (2 adults+2 children for less-mobile guests we have a ground floor bedroom with walk in wet room and extra wide door openings. A ground floor dining room, a secluded block paved patio, large wooden gazebo and grassed rear garden complete with, tables and chairs. Free Wi-Fi is provided.The B&B is run by John and Janet Green. John a retired Fire Officer and Janet who has worked within Tourism and Catering sectors for many years make every effort to ensure a pleasant stay and to provide and maintain the highest possible standard of service and welcome guests visiting for leisure or business. We are very happy to cater for guests with dietary preference such as Gluten intolerance, vegan, celiac and vegetarian.Should you have any queries or concerns please feel free to contact us. Bookings can be made on line, by email or telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle Green B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing